Building Self-Esteem in Children With 'I Color Myself Different'

Athlete and activist Colin Kaepernick shares his powerful story about celebrating what makes you different.

Aug 08, 2022



Building Self-Esteem in Children With 'I Color Myself Different'

Aug 08, 2022

It takes courage to turn your differences into a superpower. And that’s exactly what high-profile athlete and civil rights activist Colin Kaepernick celebrates in his New York Times best-selling picture book, I Color Myself Different.

Based on Kaepernick’s childhood journey of self-love, I Color Myself Different recounts a time when five-year-old Colin is asked to draw a portrait of his family at school and fields questions about why he colors himself with a different color crayon. 

Colin asks his mother why his skin color is different from the rest of his family, and she explains that being adopted is a special way to join a family. Although they don’t share the same skin color, they share the same love. 

This heartwarming social-emotional picture book will teach your child about the importance of embracing who you are and knowing your inherent worth. It also celebrates Black identity and instills in readers that they have the power to lead and change the world.

The colorful illustrations bring the story to life while also promoting diversity and representation. Inside the book, you’ll find a page highlighting inspirational Black figures, including Angela Davis and Muhammad Ali, with brief summaries of their contributions. 

A great home library addition for any family, I Color Myself Different opens up a conversation about identity, race, and self-expression with your child. 

Share more Black stories with the books below! You can find more books and activities at The Scholastic Store, where you'll get free shipping on book-only orders over $25. 

For more quick tips and book recommendations, sign up for our Scholastic Parents newsletter!

You'll also get 10% off your first order at the Scholastic Store Online.

Raise a Reader Blog
Age 8
Age 7
Age 6
Age 5
Age 4
Age 3
Character and Values