Here's Every Captivating Book in the Wings of Fire Series

The adventures in author Tui T. Sutherland's thrilling dragon novel series have been known to turn upper elementary kids into avid readers.

By Scholastic Parents
May 14, 2024



Here's Every Captivating Book in the Wings of Fire Series

May 14, 2024

Fans of mythical creatures and fantasy novels will enjoy soaring through the pages of author Tui T. Sutherland's New York Times best-selling book series, Wings of Fire.

"My 11-year-old has been enthralled by this fantasy fiction series since the very first book," says Christie Burnett, a teacher and mom of two. 

Dive deeper into the world of dragons, fantasy, and mystical creatures with the best-selling Dragon Girls series.

The series follows the tales of dragon tribes and their battles, prophecies, and friendships. Most of the books are written from the point of view of different young dragons with humanlike traits and emotions — making them incredibly relatable to young readers. (That said, Wings of Fire: Legends: Dragonslayer is written from the point of view of humans.)

Check out the most recent book in the series, Wings of Fire #15: Flames of Hope! Your child will be on the edge of their seats as Luna uncovers a long-buried secret and battles the dark roots poisoning Pantala. Now, more than ever, she must unite her friends, enemies, and powers.

See the trailer below for a sneak peek at the epic adventures that take flight in the latest title. Can one dragon change the world?

Graphic novels are a great way to boost your child's reading comprehension skills and foster a love of books, and the Wings of Fire Graphic Novels will have them excitedly following along the captivating storylines and illustrations. For instance, in Wings of Fire Graphic Novel #7: Winter Turning, Winter sets out on a dangerous journey to find his sister, Icicle, after she runs away from Jade Mountain Academy. With the help of his dragonet friends, Winter is ready to face any obstacle. 

Fans of graphic novels will also love the award-winning Dog Man series by best-selling author and illustrator Dav Pilkey. 

Your kids can also jump right into the series with the Wings of Fire Starter Collection (Pack of 10). These epic stories are known to hook kids on reading and will get your upper elementary reader more excited about books than ever before. 

Shop the entire Wings of Fire series below! You can find all books and activities at The Scholastic Store

(If you are looking for more engaging books for your reader in grades 3 to 7, check out Harry Potter classics and spin-offs as well as the amazing books in the Hunger Games series. Explore even more Scholastic Parents book lists to discover the best children's books by age, interest, and more!)

Book Sets & Collections

Chapter Books

Graphic Novels

Fun Books for Wings of Fire Fans

For more book and reading ideas, sign up for our Scholastic Parents newsletter!
Age 9
Age 8
Age 10
Age 12
Age 11
Dragons and Mythical Creatures
Adventures and Adventurers