Perfect Pairings for Your Child’s Favorite Popular Series

With this guide, you won't have to guess which titles your child will love next.
Feb 05, 2020

Ages

3-13

Perfect Pairings for Your Child’s Favorite Popular Series

Feb 05, 2020

It feels like hitting the jackpot when your child finds a book or series that they love. But that doesn’t mean you have to start from scratch to help them find their next must-read! Shop these popular read-alike series that are similar to your child's favorites. 

Take an extra 15% off all boxed sets and collections at The Scholastic Store today by using the code NEWBOOKS.*

Want even more book and reading ideas? Sign up for our Scholastic Parents newsletter.

If your kid loves the No, David! series…

...they’ll love the Stinky Face series.

The main characters of these two preschool book series have something in common: They’re super curious! For David, this comes in the form of hilarious mischief. For Stinky Face, it's with questions galore! But with both series, your little ones will like seeing the sweet interactions between the main characters and their loving moms. 

If your kid loves the Fly Guy series

...they’ll love the Who Would Win? series.

For newly independent readers who love facts and "true stories," these series will be captivating. The Fly Guy Presents books are part of the larger Fly Guy series, and teach kids exciting facts about everything from recycling to space. Meanwhile, the Who Would Win? series reveals which animals — say, a whale vs. a giant squid or a tarantula vs. a scorpion — would win in a showdown. 

If your kid loves the Baby-Sitters Club Graphix series...

...they’ll love the Sunny Graphix series.

Both of these graphic novel series touch on the everyday drama middle graders and tweens experience — and will inspire them with relatable characters and engaging plots!

The Baby-Sitters Club Graphix series is a remake of the classic series you loved, and follows the adventures of friends who start their own business (and deal with everything from cranky toddlers to scary neighbors along the way). Meanwhile, the Sunny Graphix books are about a girl who's trying to find her groove in middle school, all while staying true to herself. 

If your kid loves the Dog Man series... 

...they’ll love The Bad Guys series.

For the kid obsessed with saving the day, these graphic novel series follow the shenanigans of unexpected heroes. The hilarious Dog Man series follows the adventures of a howlin' brave hero who is half dog and half man! Meanwhile, a group of bad guys (who are really trying to be good guys) must pull together to defeat villainous forces in The Bad Guys series. 

If your kid loves Harry Potter

...they’ll love the Wings of Fire series. 

If your fantasy lover was hooked by the intricate world of Harry Potter, the same will be true with Wings of Fire, a fantasy series about warring dragon tribes, a prophecy, and young dragonets who are surprisingly relatable to middle-grade readers. 

*See site for details. 
Reading
Raise a Reader Blog
Book Lists
Age 13
Age 10
Age 12
Age 11
Age 9
Age 8
Age 7
Age 6
Age 5
Age 4
Age 3
Reading