The Hilarious Books in The Bad Guys Series

This graphic novel series about "bad guys" who want to be good is perfect for fans of Dog Man and Captain Underpants, or absolutely any reader who loves to laugh.

By Scholastic Editors
Jan 17, 2024

Ages

7-11

The Hilarious Books in The Bad Guys Series

Jan 17, 2024

Introduce your young reader to the baddest bunch of do-gooders in town — Mr. Wolf, Mr. Piranha, Mr. Snake, and Mr. Shark, the main characters in author and illustrator Aaron Blabey's The Bad Guys graphic novel series.

Young readers will devour the latest book in the series, The Bad Guys #18: The Bad Guys in Look Who's Talking. Forget everything you know. One character has found her voice, and she has A LOT to share.

But, of course, if your young reader is new to this best-selling series, then the best place to start is Bad Guys #1: The Bad Guys. In this hilarious first installment, we meet Mr. Wolf, Mr. Snake, Mr. Piranha, and Mr. Shark as they plot to break 200 dogs out of the Maximum Security City Dog Pound.

Whether it’s a chain-saw monster confronting a velociraptor who has eaten an elderly piranha, or saving the world from Dr. Marmalade's meowing monsters, these unforgettable "bad guys" will entice even the most reluctant readers and make everyone in the family giggle. 

Can’t get enough of the Bad Guys? Check out Cat on the Run #1: Cat of Death, the first book in the hilarious chapter book series set in the world of the Bad Guys. 

The penultimate book in the series, The Bad Guys #19: Serpent and the Beast, drops on July 2nd and you can pre-order your copy here. Plus, keep an eye out for release details about the final installment, The Bad Guys #20: One Last Thing, coming later in 2024 when the series will come to an epic conclusion. 

Start the series and plan your next family movie night, so your reader can watch the books come to life in the hilarious movie adaptation, The Bad Guys from DreamWorks Animation. Plus, check out the novelization of the movie to keep your young reader engaged and growing their skills. 

Shop all The Bad Guys books below! Plus, explore more book lists to discover the best children's books by age, interest, and more. 

You can find all books and activities at The Scholastic Store.

Series, Characters, Authors
Age 9
Age 8
Age 7
Age 10
Age 11