The Wonderful World of Shel Silverstein

Shel Silverstein's masterful collections of poems and drawings are at once outrageously funny and profound — beloved by children of all ages.



The Wonderful World of Shel Silverstein

For decades, parents and children alike have embraced the award-winning works of poet, author, illustrator and songwriter Shel Silverstein. From the timeless picture book "The Giving Tree," a poignant tale about unconditional love first published in 1964, to Silverstein's numerous collections of poetry, including "Where the Sidewalk Ends," readers of all ages have enjoyed his vivid stories and poems. His legacy is one of whimsical imagery and sometimes silly but always beautifully written verses that have inspired an introduction to poetry for many children.

Below is a full list of Shel Silverstein's books:

Where the Sidewalk Ends

The Giving Tree

The Missing Piece Meets the Big O

Don't Bump the Glump!

Every Thing On It

Falling Up

A Giraffe and a Half

Lafcadio, the Lion Who Shot Back

Runny Babbit

A Light in the Attic

The Missing Piece

Runny Babbit Returns

Who Wants a Cheap Rhinoceros?

Shop Shel Silverstein Favorites in the Scholastic Store

Series, Characters, Authors
Age 8
Age 7
Age 6