Bring History to Life With the I Survived Series

This historical fiction series engages readers with tales of terrifying situations throughout history.

Dec 05, 2023



Bring History to Life With the I Survived Series

Dec 05, 2023

Captivate your growing reader with the riveting I Survived series, which tells stories about terrifying moments in the past through the eyes of kids who survived them. History is far more relatable to kids when they learn about it from the perspective of characters their age!

This historical fiction series by Lauren Tarshis is a fantastic way to introduce your child to stories about history and support what they're learning in class — in a way that keeps them engaged until the very last page. It also teaches courage, resilience, and hope during trying and scary situations, which can give your child's self-confidence and belief in their own abilities a boost when they need it most. 

For instance, in I Survived the Attacks of September 11, 2001Noah and his dad are spending the day in New York City but plans quickly change after a devastating and shocking event. Your growing reader will be able to connect the story to real historical events and ask you about your memories of that day. Meanwhile, in I Survived the Galveston Hurricane, 1900, one child survives the frightening flood waters of one of the deadliest hurricanes in American history, only to courageously go back in to make sure his neighbors are safe. 

In keeping with the theme of resilience during times of great hardship, terror, and need, the newest addition to the best selling series, I Survived the Great Alaskan Earthquake, 1964tells the story of one boy's courageous survival of an earthquake so powerful that it changed everything we knew about earth science. 

Shop the I Survived series below! Plus, explore our Scholastic Parents book lists to discover the best children's books by age, interest, and more! You can explore the complete I Survived Series at The Scholastic Store

Want even more book and reading ideas? Sign up for our Scholastic Parents newsletter.

I Survived Book Sets & Collections

I Survived Graphic Novels

I Survived Chapter Books

I Survived True Stories

History & Social Studies
Age 9
Age 8
Age 7
Age 10
Social Studies
World Conflicts
World War II
World War I
Countries, Continents, Regions
World History
Wars and Military
Death, Grief, Loss