Parents | Raising readers & learners.

Home of Parent & Child Magazine

The Serpent's Shadow

The Serpent's Shadow

Series: The Kane Chronicles (Book #3)
by Rick Riordan
Ghosts, Magic, and a Deadly Serpent God! Spooky spells and murderous magicians bring this supernatural series to its breathtaking conclusion!
No matter what they do or how hard they try, Carter and Sadie Kane can't seem to defeat the ancient Egyptian chaos snake. Now he's back and threatening to plunge the world into eternal darkness. With the magicians on the brink of civil war and the gods themselves divided, Carter and Sadie must stand alone. Their only hope is an ancient spell that might turn the serpent's own shadow into a weapon, but that magic has been lost for a thousand years. To find it again, the Kanes must rely on the murderous ghost of a powerful magician who might lead them to the serpent's shadow...or to their deaths in the underworld. The fate of the world is at stake when the Kane family fulfills its destiny in the heart-racing finale to the Kane Chronicles.
10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15
Interest Level
Grades 5 - 9
Guided Reading
Adventure, Myths and Legends

About the Author

Contributor Image Alt Tag Rick Riordan Author of the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series, and The 39 Clues series. His books have won many accolades including a mention on the 2005 New York Times Notable list for "The Lightning Thief". Rick lives with his family in San Antonio, Texas.

The Reading Toolkit

Shop From Scholastic

Paperback Book: $7.99

Buy Now

Find Just-Right Books

Find Just-Right Books

Sponsor Spotlight