Parents | Raising readers & learners.

Home of Parent & Child Magazine

The Magician's Nephew

The Magician's Nephew

Series: Chronicles of Narnia (Book #1)
by C. S. Lewis

Digory and Polly discover a secret passage that links their homes, and they are taken into the World of Charn, where they wake up the evil Queen Jadis. There, they witness the creation of the Land of Narnia as it is sung into being by the Great Lion, Aslan. When Digory and Polly attempt to send the wicked witch, Jadis, back to her own world, the magic gets mixed up and they all land in Narnia, where they witness Aslan blessing the animals with human speech.

The Magician's Nephew is a prequel to The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, but was the sixth book written by C.S. Lewis in the Chronicles of Narnia series. It is considered to be the first in the series by those wishing to read the books in chronological rather than publishing order.

10, 11, 12
Interest Level
Grades 5 - 7
Guided Reading
Book Type
Chapter Book
Number of Pages
Classics, Fantasy

About the Author

C. S. Lewis C. S. Lewis is best known today for his children's series The Chronicles of Narnia.

The Reading Toolkit

Shop From Scholastic

Find Just-Right Books

Find Just-Right Books