Parents | Raising readers & learners.

Home of Parent & Child Magazine

The Hawk Bandits of Tarkoom

The Hawk Bandits of Tarkoom

Series: Secrets of Droon (Book #11)
by Tony Abbott, Tim Harris Illustrated by Tim Jessell

Tony Abbott is the author of more than ninety books for young readers, including THE SECRETS OF DROON series; middle-grade novel KRINGLE; and THE HAUNTING OF DEREK STONE series. He was the recipient of the 2006 Golden Kite Award, as well as the 2009 Edgar Award. Tony was born in Ohio, and now lives with his wife and two daughters in Trumbull, Connecticut. Visit him online at

8, 9, 10
Interest Level
Grades 2 - 5
Grade Level Equivalent
Lexile Measure
Tandem Library
Adventure, Series, Science Fiction and Fantasy

About the Authors and Illustrator

Tony Abbott The author of three best-selling series for young readers, Tony Abbott didn't actually turn to writing full-time until 1994. Though he first came to attention with his Danger Guys series, begun in 1994, Tony Abbott has continued to gain recognition for The Secrets of Droon, an ongoing series that independent bookstores count in their top ten fantasy book recommendations for Harry Potter fans.
Tim Harris
Tim Jessell

The Reading Toolkit

Find Just-Right Books

Find Just-Right Books

Sponsor Spotlight