Parents | Raising readers & learners.

Home of Parent & Child Magazine

Artemis Fowl

Artemis Fowl

Series: Artemis Fowl (Book #1)
by Eoin Colfer

This rip-roaring, 21st-century romp of the highest order is a combination of folklore, fantasy, and a fistful of high-tech. These two crime caper fantasies feature anti-hero Artemis Fowl, a twelve-year-old boy-genius and the last of a clan of international underworld figures and con artists. Rough 'n' tumble storytelling with plenty of attitude.

From a strikingly original new voice comes the story of Artemis Fowl, a very unusual hero. Artemis is a genius, a criminal mastermind, and a millionaire...and he is only twelve years old! A combination of Sherlock Holmes, James Bond, and Attila the Hun, even Artemis doesn't know what he's taken on when he kidnaps a fairy — because these fairies are armed and dangerous, and don't play by any rules!

11, 14, 12, 13
Interest Level
Grades 6 - 8
Grade Level Equivalent
Lexile Measure
Guided Reading
Hyperion Books
Number of Pages
Adventure, Fantasy, Science Fiction and Fantasy

About the Author

Eoin Colfer Colfer published several award-winning bestsellers, including The Wish List and Benny and Omar, before he started the Artemis Fowl books, all three of which have been bestsellers.

The Reading Toolkit

Shop From Scholastic

Paperbacks : $7.19

Buy Now

Find Just-Right Books

Find Just-Right Books