Parents | Raising readers & learners.

Home of Parent & Child Magazine

Scholastic Parents: Raise a Reader

Read-Alikes: What to Read Next If Your Child Loved "Wonder"

If your child enjoyed reading "Wonder" by R.J. Palacio, here's some books to suggest next.
on November 29, 2017
 

There are some books that stick with you long after you finish them. That is what you can expect when your children read the best-selling book, Wonder by R.J. Palacio. (It's been so impactful to so many, that it was recently adapted into a major motion picture!) Here's what it's about:


Wonder, for ages 8 and up, is the story of a boy named Auggie who was born with a facial deformity. He was homeschooled for his elementary years but is now making the switch to a middle school setting. The new experience comes with lots of challenges and adjustments for everyone. The overarching lesson weaved throughout the story is the importance of kindness and acceptance. 

If your kids enjoyed Wonder, they'll also want to check out these five Read-Alikes.


1. Save Me a Seat by Sarah Weeks and Gita Varadarajan introduces your kids to two boys at the same school who don't think they have anything in common because of very different backgrounds. However, when the same enemy (their class bully) tortures them both, they agree to work on a one week mission together to solve their mutual problem. For ages 8 and up. 


2. In The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate, we meet Ivan, a gorilla. Ivan has spent most of his life living in a shopping mall. When Ruby, an elephant, comes to join him there, Ivan begins to question the setting they live in as their home. For ages 8 and up. 


3. Rules by Cynthia Lord tells the story of a 12-year-old girl who craves a normal life after living with the day-to-day challenges of having a brother with special needs. In her quest to define and find normal, she discovers that sometimes it's easier to adapt a different perspective. For ages 9 and up.


4. Smile by Raina Telgemeier is a graphic novel about a sixth grade girl navigating the world of middle school. Things become even more challenging when she falls and suffers a mouth injury causing her to endure surgeries, braces, and a retainer. School can sure throw a lot of curve balls when you're faced with dental challenges. For ages 9 and up. 


5. Freak the Mighty by Rodman Philbrick is the story of two very different boys who both have to deal with teasing and harassment. One is an oversized boy dealing with lots of challenges and the other is very smart and physically challenged. The duo teams up to form Freak the Mighty to create an invicible friendship and partnership. For ages 10 and up. 

Your kids will enjoy these books with themes of tolerance, compassion, and friendship, especially if they enjoyed reading Wonder.

About this blog

In the Raise a Reader blog, get advice, tips, and resources from our expert contributors on helping your child read at every age and stage. Each week, find book recommendations, literacy activities, and more to spark your reader's interests.

Blogs We Love

Play and learning ideas for kids of all ages.
Literacy resources to reach all growing readers.

Find Just-Right Books