2006 Finalists
Intel and Scholastic Schools of Distinction Awards

Meet the inspiring finalists of this year’s Schools of Distinction Awards. The 48 finalists were chosen from thousands of public and private schools that participated in the application process.

The 2006 finalists in each category are:

Academic Achievement – The school has shown significant improvements in test scores, graduation rates and college entrance rates.

  • Benjamin Banneker Academic High School, Washington, D.C.
  • Frankford Elementary School, Frankford, Del
  • Maple Elementary School, Seattle, WA
  • Morristown-Hamblen High School East, Morristown, Tenn.
  • Parkside Elementary School, San Mateo, Calif.
  • Roxbury Preparatory Charter School, Mission Hill Mass

Literary Achievement – The language arts curriculum is designed to ensure high levels of achievement for all students and is consistently implemented, regularly evaluated and modified for more effective instruction.

  • Delano Elementary School, Memphis, Tenn.
  • Holly Academy, Holly, Mich.
  • John Griffin Middle School, Fayetteville, N.C.
  • Liberty Middle School, Cumming, Ga.
  • Lincoln Elementary School, Spencer, Iowa
  • North Brunswick High School, Leland, N.C.

Mathematics Achievement – The mathematics curriculum includes a variety of instructional strategies that incorporate critical thinking skills, hands-on experiences and project-based learning to ensure high levels of achievement for all students.

  • Lake Taylor Middle School, Norfolk, Va.
  • Manila Elementary School, Pleasant Grove, Utah
  • Ogden Elementary School, Ogden, Kan.
  • Parkland-Brookside Elementary School, Rochester, N.Y.
  • Stephen Decatur Middle School, Berlin, Md.
  • Stephen Decatur High School, Berlin, Md.

Science Achievement – The science curriculum is designed to ensure high levels of achievement for all students and should include instructional strategies incorporating critical thinking skills, hands-on, investigative experiences and project-based learning.

  • Branson Elementary School, Burleson, Texas
  • Davidson I.B. Middle School, Davidson, N.C.
  • Linkhorn Park Elementary School, Virginia Beach, Va.
  • Miami Springs Middle School, Miami Springs, Fla.
  • St. Joseph’s Academy, Frontenac, Mo.
  • W.E.B. DuBois Academy, Cincinnati

Technology Excellence – The school demonstrates an extensive use of technology through the seamless implementation of programs, curricula and management, and has excelled in the integration of a variety of educational technology to enhance teaching and learning.

  • Berrendos Middle School, Red Bluff, Calif.
  • Cromwell Valley Regional Magnet School of Technology, Towson, Md.
  • Forest Lake Elementary School, Columbia, S.C.
  • Kellogg Middle School, Shoreline, Wash.
  • MacArthur Elementary School, Las Cruces, N.M.
  • Mattson Middle School, Kent, Wash.

Leadership Excellence – Dynamic leadership based on vision, data, research, best practices and continuous monitoring and assessment engages the school community in continuous school improvement focused on student achievement.

  • A.B. Combs Leadership Magnet Elementary School, Raleigh, N.C.
  • Azalea Gardens Middle School, Norfolk, Va.
  • Detroit Edison Public School Academy, Detroit
  • Greece Odyssey Academy, Greece, N.Y.
  • Key Peninsula Middle School, Lakebay, Wash.
  • Ruskin Elementary School, Waycross, Ga.

Professional Development – Professional development is innovative, ongoing and relevant, and has a significant impact on the professional growth and development of staff and on student achievement.

  • Alton C. Crews Middle School, Lawrenceville, Ga.
  • Assumption High School, Louisville, Ky.
  • Dundee Elementary School, Omaha, Neb.
  • Essex Elementary School, Essex, Vt.
  • Passages Charter School, Chicago
  • Patrick Henry High School, Minneapolis

Collaboration & Teamwork – The school culture encourages and actively engages teachers, administrators, other school staff, community members and business leaders to work collaboratively for the benefit of the students

  • Chisholm Middle School, Newton, Kan.
  • Don Pedro Albizu Campos/P.S. 161, New York
  • Governor Thomas Johnson Middle School, Frederick, Md.
  • Lakeridge Jr. High School, Orem, Utah
  • Ocean Acres Elementary School, Manahawkin, N.J.
  • Whitman Elementary School, Turnersville, N.J.