Create a List

List Name

Rename this List
Save to

Kenneth Grahame

Kenneth Grahame was a Scottish author best known for his juvenile classic The Wind in the Willows (1908). The book was written for his only son, Alastair, while Grahame served (1897-1908) as a secretary of the Bank of England. He wrote only three other books, including Pagan Papers (1893), personal essays that reflect his private frustrations, and the short-story collections The Golden Age (1895) and Dream Days (1898). Although his works are noted for their graceful charm, the conflict between Grahame's own aristocratic background and new social concerns lies just beneath the surface of his mythic tales. He also compiled the Cambridge Book of Poetry for Children (1916). He was born on March 8, 1859, and he passed away on July 6, 1932.

Source: Scholastic Go!

Susan Cheyney

About Us