Create a List

List Name

Rename this List
Save to

Author
Visit Kit

Beth Ain Author Visit Kit

Current home
Port Washington, New York, United States of America

Grades

1–2, 3–5

If your students love chapter books, Beth Ain is just the right author for your classroom. Ain is the dynamic author of the Starring Jules series, which Publishers’ Weekly gave a starred review, and about which a Horn Book reviewer writes, “Fans of Clementine and Judy Moody could have a new buddy here.”

A mother of two young children, Ain has an amazing rapport with kids. With as much pizzazz as her title character, she connects instantly and gets everyone in the room to open up and tap into their inner writer. Beth Ain lives in Port Washington, NY. Visit www.bethain.com.

Description of the Author’s Presentation

Build Your Own Chapter Book Star

Grades 1-4
45-60 minutes

There is something special about a kid who can carry a whole series of books — from Nancy Drew to Encyclopedia Brown to Fudge, Ramona, and Judy Moody — these characters shine bright. Who would you build if you were going to write a book like this? Would the character be like you? What would he sound like? How would she think? Is she funny? Silly? Super-smart? Does she have a signature phrase? Does he like to juggle strange objects? Speak in a shouting voice? In this workshop, with a special star-building worksheet and tools from a pro, your students will write the first pages of their very own chapter book!

Conference and Festival Appearances

Writing the Authentic Contemporary Family — The Way We Parent Now

Critics have hailed the Bloom family in Beth Ain’s Starring Jules series for its portrayal of the modern, urban family. Ain feels strongly that there are ways to write a family unit that is present and communicative, while still building the independent and complicated main characters kids love so much. She believes also in including extended family members and grown-up family friends as important characters with real-life, quirky sensibilities and advice. Ain will discuss how TV families often discount the parents as bumbling, physical comedians and how important it is to paint a more interesting and complete picture of the adults who help form our favorite young characters.

Virtual Visits

Chit-Chat with Beth Ain!

Beth would be thrilled to drop into your classroom for a 15-minute virtual visit — she loves answering questions from kids about writing and publishing and even what she had for breakfast that day.

AV and Tech Needs for In-Person Visits

A big easel would be helpful!

Honorarium

For rates and fees please fill out our Author Request form and the Author Visits Manager will respond shortly.

Ordering Books

Schools and libraries may order books at a discounted rate by visiting The Scholastic Teacher Store or by calling 1-800-SCHOLASTIC.

Lois Lowry

by Chris Bowman

Grades

1–2, 3–5

Guided Reading Level

M

Books | Individual Titles | Library Binding
Starting at: $23.00

Biscuit in the Garden

by Alyssa Satin Capucilli , Pat Schories

Grades

PreK–K, 1–2, 3–5

Guided Reading Level

F

Books | Individual Titles | Paperback Book
Starting at: $4.00

Read and Rise

by Myles C. Pinkney , Sandra L. Pinkney

Grades

PreK–K, 1–2, 3–5

Grade Level Equivalents

3.0

Books | Individual Titles | Paperback Book
Starting at: $4.95

Little Red Writing

by Joan Holub , Melissa Sweet

Grades

PreK–K, 1–2, 3–5

Guided Reading Level

O

Books | Individual Titles | Paperback Book
Starting at: $5.00

Book! Book! Book!

by Deborah Bruss , Tiphanie Beeke

Grades

PreK–K, 1–2, 3–5

Guided Reading Level

J

Books | Individual Titles | Paperback Book
Starting at: $5.95

My Weird Writing Tips

by Mr. Jim Paillot , Dan Gutman

Grades

1–2, 3–5

Guided Reading Level

P

Books | Individual Titles | Paperback Book
Starting at: $5.95
My Scholastic

Susan Cheyney

GRADES: 1-2