

SCHOLASTIC Social Studies



## **United States Presidents**

- **1. Requirements for President** a. Must be 35 years old.
  - b. Must be a citizen born in the United States.
  - c. Must have lived in the United States for 14 consecutive years.
- 2. Powers of the President
  - a. Chief Executive of the government, seeing that all laws passed are carried out. The President also sends to Congress the annual budget needed to run the government, and proposals for raising money.
  - b. Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces, giving orders to the military services, including asking Congress to declare war and deciding how to conduct war.
  - c. The President must either sign or veto all bills passed by Congress.
  - d. The President appoints all judges serving on the Supreme Court and other United States courts, ambassadors to foreign countries, cabinet members, and Army, Navy, and Air Force officers.
  - e. The President directs foreign policy and makes treaties with foreign countries with the consent of the Senate.

## **References:**

Adapted from EVERYTHING YOU NEED TO KNOW ABOUT AMERICAN HISTORY HOMEWORK by Anne Zernan and Kate Kelly. Published by Scholastic Reference, an imprint of Scholastic Inc. Copyright © 1994 by Scholastic Inc. Used by permission.

From SCHOLASTIC KID'S ALMANAC FOR THE 21ST CENTURY by Elaine Pascoe and Deborah Kops, illustrated by Bob Italiano and David C. Bell. A Blackbirch Graphics Book published by Scholastic Reference, an imprint of Scholastic Inc. Copyright © 1999 by Scholastic Inc. Reprinted by permission.

SCHOLASTIC and logos are trademarks of Scholastic Inc. @ 2003 Scholastic Inc. All rights reserved.

## **U.S. PRESIDENTS AND THEIR PARTIES**

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~		Washington <sup>1</sup>	1789–1797	Federalist
- Les	2.	J. Adams	1797–1801	Federalist
, V		Jefferson	1801–1809	Democratic-Republican
Ľ,		Madison	1809–1817	Democratic-Republican
$\mathcal{I}$		Monroe	1817–1825	Democratic-Republican
	6.	J. Q. Adams	1825–1829	Democratic-Republican
A C	7.	Jackson	1829–1837	Democratic
The second		Van Buren	1837–1841	Democratic
$\rightarrow$	9.	W. H. Harrison <sup>2</sup>	1841	Whig
$\rightarrow$	10.	Tyler	1841–1845	Whig
and the		Polk	1845–1849	Democratic
$\rightarrow$	12.	Taylor	1849–1850	Whig
$\rightarrow$	13.	Fillmore	1850–1853	Whig
The second	14.	Pierce	1853–1857	Democratic
T		Buchanan	1857–1861	Democratic
	16.	Lincoln <sup>3</sup>	1861–1865	Republican
	17.	A. Johnson <sup>4</sup>	1865–1869	Union
シシシンでは大大て大大ではなどの	18.	Grant	1869–1877	Republican
	19.	Hayes	1877–1881	Republican
	20.	Garfield <sup>3</sup>	1881	Republican
	21.	Arthur	1881–1885	Republican
T	22.	Cleveland	1885–1889	Democratic
	23.	B. Harrison	1889–1893	Republican
and the second s	24.	Cleveland <sup>5</sup>	1893–1897	Democratic
Sint	25.	McKinley <sup>3</sup>	1897–1901	Republican
	26.	T. Roosevelt	1901–1909	Republican
	27.	Taft	1909–1913	Republican
T	28.	Wilson	1913–1921	Democratic
	29.	Harding <sup>2</sup>	1921–1923	Republican
	30.	Coolidge	1923–1929	Republican
	31.	Hoover	1929–1933	Republican
The second	32.	F. D. Roosevelt <sup>2</sup>	1933–1945	Democratic
T	33.	Truman	1945–1953	Democratic
	34.	Eisenhower	1953–1961	Republican
T	35.	Kennedy <sup>3</sup>	1961-1963	Democratic
T	36.	L. B. Johnson	1963–1969	Democratic
	37.	Nixon <sup>6</sup>	1969–1974	Republican
	38.	Ford	1974–1977	Republican
	39.	Carter	1977-1981	Democratic
	40.	Reagan	1981–1989	Republican
9.1	41.	Bush	1989–1993	Republican
T	42.	Clinton	1993-2001	Democratic
	43.	Bush	2001–	Republican
1 B				

1. No party for first election. The party system in the U.S. made its appearance during Washington's first term. 2. Died in office. 3. Assassinated in office. 4. The Republican National Convention of 1864 adopted the name Union Party. It renominated Lincoln for president; for vice president it nominated Johnson, a War Democrat. Although frequently listed as a Republican vice president and President, Johnson undoubtedly considered himself strictly a member of the Union Party. When that party broke apart after 1868, he returned to the Democratic Party. 5. Second nonconsecutive term. 6. Resigned Aug. 9, 1974.

Source: Library of Congress