A big day for book awards

Jan 28, 2013
Today, the American Library Association announced its Youth Media Awards, which book lovers anxiously await each January! We’re incredibly honored to have several award-winners this year, and we’d like to extend our congratulations to all of the titles and authors that were honored this morning. It truly was a wonderful year in children’s literature! Congratulations to… Raina Telgemeier and Drama: named an Honor Book in the Stonewall Book Award - Mike Morgan & Larry RomansChildren’s & Young Adult Literature Award, which is given annually to English-language children’s and young adult books of exceptional merit relating to the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender experience. Sonia Manzano and The Revolution of Evelyn Serrano: Pura Belpre Honor Award, honoringa Latino writer whose children’s book best portrays, affirms and celebrates the Latino cultural experience. Deborah Hopkinson and Titanic: Voices from the Disaster: named a Sibert Honor Book! The Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Award and its three Honor books award the most distinguished informational books for children. This title was also a finalist for the YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults. We’re also very excited for Andrea Davis Pinkney, editor extraordinaire and vice president here at Scholastic as well as a multi-award-winning author, who will deliver the 2014 May Hill Arbuthnot Honor Lecture! Congratulations, Andrea! There are many, many more ALAYMA winners listed right here. Meanwhile, the Audies, sponsored by the Audio Publishers Association (APA), were also announced! They are the premier awards program in the United States recognizing distinction in audiobooks and spoken word entertainment. Scholastic and Weston Woods have earned a total of eight Notable Recording distinctions! Congratulations to: Edwina Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site Knuffle Bunny Free Merry Christmas, Splat The Red Hen A Sick Day for Amos McGee The False Prince Words in the Dust Find out more about Weston Woods and Scholastic Audio. Congrats, all!