{{lfctrl.headTitleStep1}}

{{lfctrl.headCopyStep1}}

An Email Is Headed
Your Way

We've sent a message
so you can pick a new password.

Reset Your Password

Think of a password that is at least 6 characters long.

Success! You now have a new password.

Please be sure to memorize it or write it in a safe place.



Wait!

Are you sure you want to exit?
Your password will not be reset!

{{lfctrl.notice}}


Wait!

Are you sure you don't want to finish?
You're almost done!

We are missing your email address.

Please enter your or your parent's email address. We will only use your email address to reset your password should you forget it.

Sign Up for Free E-Newsletters

(Optional)

You're Signed up for {{nlctrl.form.newsletters.join(',')}}

The next newsletter will arrive in your inbox within a few weeks.

hey, {{userData.username}}!

Edit Your Profile

SORRY!

You can only put stickers
where you see the dotted
circles.

ADD MY STICKER

WAIT!

You have to sign in,
first!

ALL SERIES
HIDE
g Go Back

The BFG Readalikes

If you love The BFG, check out these readalike books for ages 8-12!

By En-Szu

Excellent news, Roald Dahl fans! The beloved fictional giant, the BFG (Big Friendly Giant), is now also a movie. (There’s a joke on being larger than life in there somewhere . . . ) If you can’t get enough of the silly, sometimes surreal, and always heartwarming world of The BFG , here are some great books for ages 8-12 to read next!

Fantastic Mr. Fox by Roald Dahl
Mr. Fox is a smart and clever fox who feeds his family by stealing from a trio of cranky and cantankerous farmers named Boggis, Bunce, and Bean. Mr. Fox, his family, and his fellow animal neighbors are in a great deal of trouble after the mean old farmers decide to rid themselves of the sneaky and sly Mr. Fox once and for all. Their plan? To dig up Mr. Fox’s burrow and starve him out. But the three farmers are no match for the quick-witted Mr. Fox and his friends!

The Borrowers by Mary Norton
The Borrowers are definitely not giants—in fact, they’re so tiny they can live in the walls and floors of a house, completely undetected! The Clock family is one such family of Borrowers, and they live happily in a house in England . . . well, under the floorboards, anyway. Borrowers survive by staying undetected by the big “human beans”, but one day fourteen-year-old Arrietty Clock is seen by—and sees—a human boy!

Sideways Stories from Wayside School by Louis Sachar
When Wayside school was built, there was one major problem: it was built sideways! The building was supposed to be one floor with thirty classrooms, but instead it is thirty stories tall with one classroom on each floor. Each chapter of this book is about a teacher or student at Wayside School and the strange, wacky, and sometimes spooky things that happen in this strange, wacky, and sometimes spooky building.

Island of the Aunts by Eva Ibbotson
Three aging sisters, Aunt Cora, Aunt Etta, and Aunt Myrtle, live on an island where they care for a wide range of wild and magical creatures. As they get older, they realize they need help—so they kidnap three children to teach and train to take over. However, while the children are fascinated (and sometimes frightened!) by the mermaids, selkies, and other exotic island inhabitants, their families back home will stop at nothing to get the children back. When the island is “discovered” by the people back home, all the creatures are in danger. Will the children and the Aunts be able to save their precious island?

The Chronicles of Narnia: The Magician’s Nephew by C. S. Lewis
When two children, Digory and Polly, discover that Digory’s Uncle Andrew has magic rings that can transport them to different worlds, they find themselves on a wild adventure that lands them in an abandoned city in an ancient world. There they find the lone survivor of the destroyed world, a queen named Jadis. When Jadis follows the children back to their home world in England, ultimate mayhem ensues. This is the first book in The Chronicles of Narnia series, so if you’re left thirsting for more (and you totally will, believe me!), you’ve got six more books of awesome!

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J. K. Rowling
Harry Potter is an orphan living with his horrible remaining family, the Dursleys. Bullied and abused and forced to live under the stairs, Harry learns on his eleventh birthday that he is actually a wizard…and that there is more to his parents’ death than he initially thought. He is whisked away to the Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, where he discovers the wondrous wizarding world, the dark cloud of mystery surrounding his parents’ murder, and the curious and frightening role he is to play in saving the world from the purest form of evil there ever was! Read all 7 books in the Harry Potter series!

Have you read any of these books? Which one is your favorite? Which one do you want to read the most? What books do YOU recommend for fans of The BFG ? Share your thoughts and recommendations in the Comments below!

En-Szu

Comments ({{ commentsCounter }})

For your safety, comments will not appear until the moderator has approved them. Comments may be edited for appropriateness and to remove any personal information.

Write your comment here...
{{$parent.userData.username}}
{{ timestamp | date: "MMMM dd, yyyy 'at' h:mm a"}}
See More Comments
See More Comments

Other news Like This

This Article
Is about...