{{lfctrl.headTitleStep1}}

{{lfctrl.headCopyStep1}}

An Email Is Headed
Your Way

We've sent a message
so you can pick a new password.

Reset Your Password

Think of a password that is at least 6 characters long.

Success! You now have a new password.

Please be sure to memorize it or write it in a safe place.



Wait!

Are you sure you want to exit?
Your password will not be reset!

{{lfctrl.notice}}


Wait!

Are you sure you don't want to finish?
You're almost done!

We are missing your email address.

Please enter your or your parent's email address. We will only use your email address to reset your password should you forget it.

Sign Up for Free E-Newsletters

(Optional)

You're Signed up for {{nlctrl.form.newsletters.join(',')}}

The next newsletter will arrive in your inbox within a few weeks.

hey, {{userData.username}}!

Edit Your Profile

SORRY!

You can only put stickers
where you see the dotted
circles.

ADD MY STICKER

WAIT!

You have to sign in,
first!

ALL SERIES
HIDE
g Go Back

Harry Potter Readalikes

If you are looking for more books like Harry Potter, try these other magical books for ages 9-12.

By Emily

Today's Readalikes are for the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling. Just before Harry's 11th birthday, an owl tries to deliver him a mysterious letter with a very special message. The letter tells Harry that he has been invited to attend Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. It turns out that Harry is not just an unwanted orphan, but a hero in a wizarding world he never even knew existed. This starts him on an amazing path to magic, adventure, friendship, and family. In other words. . . . BEST. BOOKS. EVER!

There are 7 books in the Harry Potter series, plus The Tales of Beedle the Bard, plus the movies. Once you are done with all those, try out these other magical books for ages 9-11.

Theodosia and the Serpents of Chaos by R. L. LaFevers
Theodosia Throckmorton has her hands full at the Museum of Legends and Antiquities in London. Her father may be head curator, but it is Theo—and only Theo—who is able to see all the black magic and ancient curses that still cling to the artifacts in the museum. Sneaking behind her father’s back, Theo uses old, nearly forgotten Egyptian magic to remove the curses and protect her father and the rest of the museum employees from the ancient, sinister forces that lurk in the museum’s dark hallways. See also the other books in the Theodosia series.

The Golden Door by Emily Rodda
The walled city of Weld is under attack from ferocious flying creatures that raid in the night, bringing death and destruction. The Warden calls for Volunteers to find and destroy the Enemy sending invaders, and the heroes of Weld answer the call one by one, never to return. Rye is officially too young to go, but his brothers are among the lost and he must find them. What terrors await him beyond the Wall? See also the sequels, The Silver Door and The Third Door.

Dragon Rider by Cornelia Funke
With a lonely boy named Ben on board, the brave, young dragon Firedrake sets out on a journey to find the mythical place where silver dragons can live in peace forever. They encounter fantastic creatures, and cross the path of a ruthless villain with an ancient grudge who's determined to end their quest. Will Ben and Firedrake be able to find the Rim of Heaven so all dragons can finally live in peace?

The Magician's Boy by Susan Cooper
When the Boy can't find the Magician's puppet, he's sent into the Land of Story to recover it and meet a few familiar characters.

The Books of Beginning Book #1: The Emerald Atlas by John Stephens
Kate, Michael, and Emma have been tossed from one orphanage to another for the last ten years. Yet these unwanted children are more remarkable than they could possibly imagine. Ripped from their parents as babies, they are being protected from a horrible evil they know nothing about. . .Until now. See also the other books in The Books of Beginning series.

Inkheart by Cornelia Funke
When Meggie's father reads aloud, the characters from the books actually come to life. What happens when one of those characters kidnaps him and tries to use his powers for evil? See also the other books in the Inkworld Trilogy.

The Book of Dragons by E. Nesbit
These 8 short stories show that dragons can change your life, whether you are a king, queen, or just a regular kid.

How to Train Your Dragon by Cressida Cowell
Catching and training a dragon sounds impossible, but Hiccup Horrendous Haddock the Third is determined to do so. See also the other books in the How to Train Your Dragon series.

The Dark is Rising Sequence Book #1: Over Sea, Under Stone by Susan Cooper
Throughout time, the forces of good and evil have battled continuously, maintaining the balance. Whenever evil forces grow too powerful, a champion of good is called to drive them back. Now, with evil's power rising and a champion yet to be found, three siblings find themselves at the center of a mystical war. See also the other books in The Dark Is Rising Sequence.

The Children of the Red King Book #1: Midnight for Charlie Bone by Jenny Nimmo
As a descendant of the Red King, Charlie is “endowed” with a magical gift. When Charlie looks at a photograph, he can hear whoever is in the picture speak. So he is sent off to Bloor's Academy, an elite boarding school for the rich and the endowed where he uses his gift to discover the truth. See also the other books in The Children of the Red King series.

Fablehaven by Brandon Mull
Seth and Kendra realize that their grandparents’ estate, called Fablehaven, is a sanctuary for magical creatures, and not all of them are good. When the ancient laws get broken, powerful forces are unleashed, and Kendra and her brother face the greatest challenge of their lives. See also the other books in the Fablehaven series.

Septimus Heap Book #1: Magyk by Annie Sage
The seventh son of a seventh son, Septimus Heap is stolen at the moment of his birth, and a mysterious newborn girl arrives at his family's house to take his place. But who is this mysterious baby girl, and what really happened to their beloved son Septimus? See also the other books in the Septimus Heap series.

A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle
Meg’s father is doing mysterious work for the government, but no one has heard from him in a long time, and they fear he is missing. Meg is determined to go to any lengths, even travel through time, to bring him back. See also the other books by Madeleine L’Engle.

The Chronicles of NarniaThe Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis
4 siblings wander into an old wardrobe closet and discover a magical world ruled by an evil witch. See also the other books in the Chronicles of Narnia series.

The Secret of Platform 13 by Eva Ibbotson
Every 9 years a doorway under Platform 13 at Kings Cross Station opens to an amazing, fantastical island. 9 years ago, the island's baby prince was stolen on the streets of London. Now a rescue party, led by a wizard, a hag, a fairy, and an ogre, must find him and bring him back. But the boy they find is horrid and spoiled rotten. This can’t be the prince! But what about that quiet servant boy who lives under the stairs?

Percy Jackson and the Olympians Book #1: The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan
Percy discovers that he is a half-blood; his mother is human, but the father he has never known is Poseidon, God of the Seas! As a demi-god, Percy is in a lot of danger, because his father has some powerful enemies who want Percy killed. See also the other books in the Percy Jackson series, and the Heroes of Olympus series.

Hope you enjoy our Readalikes!

—Emily, Scholastic Booktalker

Harry Potter Owl llustration credit Jim Kay

Comments ({{ commentsCounter }})

For your safety, comments will not appear until the moderator has approved them. Comments may be edited for appropriateness and to remove any personal information.

Write your comment here...
{{$parent.userData.username}}
{{ timestamp | date: "MMMM dd, yyyy 'at' h:mm a"}}
See More Comments
See More Comments
Harry Potter

Explore Everything Harry Potter

Other news Like This

This Article
Is about...