{{lfctrl.headTitleStep1}}

{{lfctrl.headCopyStep1}}

An Email Is Headed
Your Way

We've sent a message
so you can pick a new password.

Reset Your Password

Think of a password that is at least 6 characters long.

Success! You now have a new password.

Please be sure to memorize it or write it in a safe place.



Wait!

Are you sure you want to exit?
Your password will not be reset!

{{lfctrl.notice}}


Wait!

Are you sure you don't want to finish?
You're almost done!

We are missing your email address.

Please enter your or your parent's email address. We will only use your email address to reset your password should you forget it.

Sign Up for Free E-Newsletters

(Optional)

You're Signed up for {{nlctrl.form.newsletters.join(',')}}

The next newsletter will arrive in your inbox within a few weeks.

hey, {{userData.username}}!

Edit Your Profile

SORRY!

You can only put stickers
where you see the dotted
circles.

ADD MY STICKER

WAIT!

You have to sign in,
first!

ALL SERIES
HIDE
g Go Back

Goosebumps Readalikes

For more books like Goosebumps, try these other spooky, creepy, scary books for kids ages 8-11.

By Emily

For more books like Goosebumps, try these other spooky, creepy, scary books for kids ages 8-11. Today's Readalikes are for the Goosebumps series. Author R.L. Stine has said that Pinocchio, the story of a wooden puppet coming to life, inspired his Slappy character, and made him want to write about an evil ventriloquist dummy coming to life. There are, like, a million books by R.L. Stine: the Goosebumps series, the HorrorLand series, the Hall of Horrors series, plus the TV shows. Once you are done with all those, try these other Goosebumps readalike books. 

The Curse of the Campfire Weenies: And Other Warped and Creepy Tales by David Lubar

This collection of warped and hair-raising tales might make you jump out of your seat, but at least it will make you giggle too.

Deadtime Stories: Grave Secrets by Annette and Gina Cascone

When Amanda and her friends go to their pet cemetery to bury a dead squirrel, they discover the grave is already occupied…and not by a pet. See also the other books in the Deadtime Stories series.

The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

After his parents are killed, infant Nobody Owens grows up in the care of graveyard ghosts.

My Sister the Vampire Book #1: Switched by Sienna Mercer

When Olivia moves to a new town, she is shocked to discover that not only does she have a twin sister, but that her twin sister is a vampire. See also the other books in the My Sister the Vampire series.

Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark by Alvin Schwartz

This classic collection includes some of the most horrifying, dark, and creepy stories that have been told for generations.

Short and Shivery: Thirty Chilling Tales by Robert D. San Souci

These short and spooky stories have been gathered from all over the world just to make your spine tingle!

Coraline by Neil Gaiman

Coraline goes through a mysterious door in her new apartment that leads to another world with parents just like her own parents but. . . creepier. And she’s not quite sure she’ll be able to get back.

Encyclopedia Horrifica: The Terrifying Truth about Vampires, Ghosts, Monsters, and More by Joshua Gee

This book includes both photographic evidence and eyewitness testimony of supernatural events. Sometimes truth is scarier than fiction.

Something Upstairs by Avi

After moving into a new house, Kenny meets the ghost of a slave boy who died in his attic almost 200 years ago.

You’re Invited to a Creepover: Truth or Dare by P.J. Night

Each book in this spooky series combines sleepovers and scary stories. We dare you to get creeped out! See also the other books in the You’re Invited to a Creepover series.

The Tanglewood Terror by Kurtis Scaletta

Eric’s hometown is being overtaken by glowing blue-green mushrooms. With Halloween approaching, Eric and his friends might not have enough time to solve the fungal mystery and save their town.

The Joy of Spooking: Fiendish Deeds by P.J. Bracegirdle

Joy lives in Spooking near a mysterious bog with a real monster in it. When the mayor of the nearby suburb called Darlington proposes building a water park over her beloved bog, Joy is determined to stop the construction and protect the monster’s habitat. See also the other books in The Joy of Spooking series.

Wait Till Helen Comes: A Ghost Story by Mary Downing Hahn

Molly and her brother are moving to a refurbished old church with their mother’s new husband and their younger stepsister, Heather. Heather is a brat, but no one wants her to get hurt by the evil ghost of a 7-year-old girl who died in a mysterious fire more than a hundred years ago.See also other books by Mary Downing Hahn.

Hope you enjoy our Readalikes!

—Emily, Scholastic Booktalker

Comments ({{ commentsCounter }})

For your safety, comments will not appear until the moderator has approved them. Comments may be edited for appropriateness and to remove any personal information.

Write your comment here...
{{$parent.userData.username}}
{{ timestamp | date: "MMMM dd, yyyy 'at' h:mm a"}}
See More Comments
See More Comments
Goosebumps

Explore Everything Goosebumps

Other news Like This

This Article
Is about...