{{lfctrl.headTitleStep1}}

{{lfctrl.headCopyStep1}}

An Email Is Headed
Your Way

We've sent a message
so you can pick a new password.

Reset Your Password

Think of a password that is at least 6 characters long.

Success! You now have a new password.

Please be sure to memorize it or write it in a safe place.



Wait!

Are you sure you want to exit?
Your password will not be reset!

{{lfctrl.notice}}


Wait!

Are you sure you don't want to finish?
You're almost done!

We are missing your email address.

Please enter your or your parent's email address. We will only use your email address to reset your password should you forget it.

Sign Up for Free E-Newsletters

(Optional)

You're Signed up for {{nlctrl.form.newsletters.join(',')}}

The next newsletter will arrive in your inbox within a few weeks.

hey, {{userData.username}}!

Edit Your Profile

SORRY!

You can only put stickers
where you see the dotted
circles.

ADD MY STICKER

WAIT!

You have to sign in,
first!

ALL SERIES
HIDE
g Go Back

The 39 Clues Readalikes

If you like The 39 Clues series, look for these readalike adventure books about secret agents, danger, and intrigue for ages 9-12.

By Emily

Today's Readalikes are for The 39 Clues series. When their grandmother dies, Amy and Dan Cahill find out that they are members of the most powerful family in the history of the world, descendants of people like Thomas Jefferson and Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart! But the secret to that power lies in 39 clues hidden around the world, and Amy and Dan must find them -- before they fall into the wrong hands.

There are a bunch of books in that seriesBut once you've finished all those, what to read next? Look for these other adventure books about secret agents, danger, and intrigue for ages 9-12.

The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin
16 different people are invited to a mansion to solve the death of the eccentric millionaire Sam Westing. Whoever can solve the mystery will inherit Westing’s 200-million dollar prize!

Missile Mouse Book #1: The Star Crusher by Jake Parker
Missile Mouse is an agent for the Galactic Security Agency and has a new partner. Can he learn to work with somebody else in order to save the universe? See also the other books in the Missile Mouse series.

Spy School by Stuart Gibbs
Ben has been recruited by the CIA to join their elite academy. As long as he survives the numerous attempts on his life, he may turn out to be a good spy!

The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart
Four children are selected for a secret undercover mission while attending the Learning Institute for the Very Enlightened. See also the other books in the Mysterious Benedict Society series.

Mudshark by Gary Paulsen
Principal Wagner is always in control of his school, but when sixty-five erasers go missing, he enlists the help infamous 12-year-old detective Mudshark.

The Fourth Stall by Chris Rylander
If you have a problem, and you can pay him, 6th-grader Mac is on your side. His office is located in the East Wing boys' bathroom, fourth stall from the high window. And business is booming.

The Genius Files Book #1: Mission Unstoppable by Dan Gutman
13-year-old twins, Coke and Pepsi McDonald, discover they are on the list of YAGs (Young American Geniuses), and must work with other YAGs to solve the nation’s problems.  See also the other books in the Genius Files series.

Gregor the Overlander by Suzanne Collins
When Gregor and his sister travel through a grate in their New York City laundry room, they discover an underworld inching towards war beneath the city. The ancient prophecy foretells that Gregor has an important role to play, and it’s up to him to meet the challenge. See also the other books in the Underland Chronicles.

Mysterious Messages: A History of Codes and Ciphers by Gary Blackwood
People have been sending secret messages and cracking codes since the dawn of mankind. Take a look at puzzling communication of the past and learn how to do it yourself.

The City of Ember by Jeanne DuPrau
The City of Ember was supposed to be the last refuge for humans, but now it seems to be falling apart. 12-year-old Linda finds part of an ancient message that might just tell her exactly how to save her city. See also the other books in the Ember series.

The Clockwork Three by Matthew J. Kirby
Frederick, Giuseppe, and Hannah all live completely different lives. They are brought together by strange circumstances, and they must work together to solve each other’s mysteries.

Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer
It’s fairies vs. a 12-year-old evil genius mastermind who is trying to steal their gold. But he has no idea what he is up against!

The Ring of Five Book 1: The Ring of Five by Eoin McNamee
After a cab driver drops Danny off at the wrong boarding school, he learns that he is destined to be the only spy that can prevent an evil world from conquering the good world.

Hope you enjoy our Readalikes!

—Emily, Scholastic Booktalker

Comments ({{ commentsCounter }})

For your safety, comments will not appear until the moderator has approved them. Comments may be edited for appropriateness and to remove any personal information.

Write your comment here...
{{$parent.userData.username}}
{{ timestamp | date: "MMMM dd, yyyy 'at' h:mm a"}}
See More Comments
See More Comments
The 39 Clues

Explore Everything The 39 Clues

Other news Like This

This Article
Is about...