Parents | Raising readers & learners.

Home of Parent & Child Magazine

The Wounded Knee Massacre

The Wounded Knee Massacre

by Elaine Landau

Series Information

Dramatic and defining moments in American history — from colonial times to the present day — come vividly to life in "Cornerstones of Freedom, Second Series." A natural extension of the acclaimed original series, the second series returns its focus to the United States with more of what middle-grade teachers and students are looking for to support history, social studies, and geography curricula.

Authoritative and up-to-date, "Cornerstones of Freedom, Second Series" is an exceptional and indispensable resource for middle-grade readers.

Series Features

• Expanded subject coverage
• Subheadings clarify what text is about
• Informative sidebars integrated with text highlight areas of interest
• Glossary words now boldfaced in text
• Comprehensive time lines
• "To Find Out More" sections and index now in every volume

9, 10, 11
Interest Level
Grades 4 - 6
Guided Reading
Children's Press (CT)
Number of Pages
Informational Text

About the Author

Elaine Landau Landau has a bachelor's degree in English and journalism from New York University and a master's degree in library and information science from Pratt Institute.

The Reading Toolkit

Shop From Scholastic

Find Just-Right Books

Find Just-Right Books