Parents | Raising readers & learners.

Home of Parent & Child Magazine

The Unwanteds

The Unwanteds

Series: The Unwanteds (Book #1)
by Lisa McMann

Every year in Quill, thirteen-year-olds are sorted into categories: The strong, intelligent Wanteds go to university, and the artistic Unwanteds are sent to their deaths. Thirteen-year-old Alex tries his hardest to be stoic when his fate is announced as Unwanted, even while leaving behind his twin, Aaron, a Wanted.

Upon arrival at the destination where he expected to be eliminated, however, Alex discovers a stunning secret: Behind the mirage of the "death farm" there is instead a place called Artime. In Artime, each child is taught to cultivate their creative abilities and learn how to use them magically, weaving spells through paintbrushes and musical instruments. But it's a rare, unique occurrence for twins to be separated between Wanted and Unwanted, and as Alex and Aaron's bond stretches across their separation, a threat arises for the survival of Artime that will pit brother against brother in an ultimate, magical battle.

8, 9, 10
Interest Level
Grades 3 - 5
Number of Pages
Adventure, Fantasy

About the Author

Lisa McMann Lisa McMann is the New York Times bestselling author of the paranormal WAKE trilogy, the dystopian fantasy THE UNWANTEDS series, and other books for teens and tweens.

The Reading Toolkit

Shop From Scholastic

Find Just-Right Books

Find Just-Right Books