Parents | Raising readers & learners.

Home of Parent & Child Magazine



by Markus Zusak

Before The Book Thief, Markus Zusak wrote a trilogy of novels about the Wolfe Brothers: The Underdog, Fighting Ruben Wolfe, and Getting the Girl. Cameron and Ruben Wolfe are champions at getting into fights, coming up with half-baked schemes, and generally disappointing girls, their parents, and their much more motivated older siblings. They're intensely loyal to each other, brothers at their best and at their very worst. But when Cameron falls head over heels for Ruben's girlfriend, the strength of their bond is tested to its breaking point.

We're proud to present these novels together for the first time, and to be introducing American readers to The Underdog, never before published in the United States. Fans of The Book Thief won't want to miss reading the novels that launched Markus Zusak's stellar career.

Interest Level
Grades 7 - 9
Grade Level Equivalent
Lexile Measure
Guided Reading
Scholastic Inc.
Young Adult

About the Author

Markus Zusak Markus Zusak was born in 1975, the youngest of four children born to German and Austrian immigrant parents. Markus studied teaching at university and gained experience teaching at the high school level.

The Reading Toolkit

Shop From Scholastic

Hardcover Picturebooks : $13.99

Buy Now

Paperbacks : $11.69

Buy Now

Find Just-Right Books

Find Just-Right Books

Sponsor Spotlight