Parents | Raising readers & learners.

Home of Parent & Child Magazine

Ptolemy's Gate

Ptolemy's Gate

Series: The Bartimaeus Trilogy (Book #3)
by Jonathan Stroud

Three years have passed since the magician Nathaniel helped prevent a cataclysmic attack on London. Now an established member of the British Government, he faces unprecedented problems: foreign wars are going badly, Britain's enemies are mounting attacks close to London, and rebellion is fermenting among the commoners. Increasingly imperious and distracted, Nathaniel is treating Bartimaeus worse than ever.

The long-suffering djinni is growing weak and vulnerable from too much time in this world, and his patience is nearing its end. Meanwhile, undercover in London, Kitty has been stealthily completing her research on magic, demons, and Bartimaeus's past. She has a plan that she hopes will break the endless cycle of conflict between djinn and humans. But will anyone listen to what she has to say?

In this thrilling conclusion of the Bartimaeus trilogy, the destinies of Bartimaeus, Nathaniel, and Kitty are thrown together once more. For the first time, we will learn the secrets of Bartimaeus's past, and get a glimpse into the Other Place — the world of demons — as together, the threesome must face treacherous magicians, unravel a masterfully complex conspiracy, and defeat a formidable faction of demons. And worst of all, they must somehow cope with one another...

11, 12, 13
Interest Level
Grades 6 - 8
Guided Reading
Miramax Books
Number of Pages

About the Author

Contributor Image Alt Tag Jonathan Stroud Stroud has gone on to publish more young adult novels including his latest entitled, Bartimaeus: The Amulet of Samarkand, the first book in this fantasy trilogy. While receiving rave reviews this series is sure to be must read for fantasy lovers.

The Reading Toolkit

Shop From Scholastic

Find Just-Right Books

Find Just-Right Books