Parents | Raising readers & learners.

Home of Parent & Child Magazine

The Night Trilogy

The Night Trilogy

by Elie Wiesel

Wiesel's trilogy offers meditations on mankind's attraction to violence and on temptation of self-destruction.

"Night "is one of the masterpieces of Holocaust literature. First published in 1960, it is the autobiographical account of an adolescent boy and his father in Auschwitz. Wiesel writes of their battle for survival, and of his battle with God for a way to understand the wanton cruelty he witnesses each day.
In the short novel "Dawn "(1961), a young man who has survived the Second World War and settled in Palestine is apprenticed to a Jewish terrorist gang. Command to execute a British officer who has been taken hostage, the former victim becomes an executioner.
In "The Accident," (1962), Wiesel again turns to fiction to question the limits of the spirit and the self: Can Holocaust survivors forge a new life without the memories of the old? As the author writes in his introduction, "In "Night "it is the 'I' who speaks; in the other two [narratives], it is the 'I' who listens and questions."

16, 17, 18
Interest Level
Grades 11 - 12

About the Author

Elie Wiesel Elie Wiesel is a Nobel Prize winning author and Holocaust survivor.

The Reading Toolkit

Shop From Scholastic

Find Just-Right Books

Find Just-Right Books