Parents | Raising readers & learners.

Home of Parent & Child Magazine

The Mayflower Project

The Mayflower Project

Series: Remnants (Book #1)
by K. A. Applegate

This is the first book in the Remnants series. The end of the world — not something most people really think about. Not something we expect to ever really happen. But what if you found out that an asteroid the size of New Jersey was about to collide with Earth? What would you do? That's what Jobs is asking himself. The question he asked his family. And he certainly didn't expect the answer he got. He didn't expect that in a very short time he and his family would be a few of the lucky ones selected to board a revamped space shuttle. What happens when they get to where they're going — if they make it there at all?

11, 12, 9, 10, 13
Interest Level
Grades 6 - 8
Grade Level Equivalent
Lexile Measure
Guided Reading
Scholastic Inc.
Number of Pages
Adventure, Science Fiction, Science Fiction and Fantasy

About the Author

K. A. Applegate Author and animal-lover K.A. Applegate decided to be a writer because she realized writing would allow her to discover all sorts of fantastical and alien animals. Her popular series, Animorphs promises to "surprise you, scare you, and amaze you."

The Reading Toolkit

Find Just-Right Books

Find Just-Right Books

Sponsor Spotlight