Parents | Raising readers & learners.

Home of Parent & Child Magazine

Little House in the Big Woods

Little House in the Big Woods

Series: Little House (Book #1)
by Laura Ingalls Wilder Illustrated by Garth Williams

Laura Ingalls's story begins in 1871 in a little log cabin on the edge of the Big Woods of Wisconsin. Four-year-old Laura lives in the little house with her Pa, her Ma, her sisters Mary and Carrie, and their trusty dog, Jack.

Pioneer life is sometimes hard, since the family must grow or catch all their own food as they get ready for the cold winter. But it is also exciting as Laura and her folks celebrate Christmas with homemade toys and treats, do the spring planting, bring in the harvest, and make their first trip into town. And every night they are safe and warm in their little house, with the happy sound of Pa's fiddle sending Laura and her sisters off to sleep.

And so begins Laura Ingalls Wilder's beloved story of a pioneer girl and her family. The nine Little House books have been cherished by generations of readers as both a unique glimpse into America's frontier past and a heartwarming, unforgettable story.

8, 9, 10
Interest Level
Grades 3 - 5
Lectorum Publications
Book Type
Early Chapter Book
Classics, Historical Fiction

About the Author and Illustrator

Laura Ingalls Wilder Laura Elizabeth Ingalls was born in a "little house in the Big Woods of Wisconsin." When she was five, her family began moving throughout the Midwest, searching for a good place to establish a farm.
Garth Williams Garth Williams

The Reading Toolkit

Shop From Scholastic

Find Just-Right Books

Find Just-Right Books