Parents | Raising readers & learners.

Home of Parent & Child Magazine

Dark Is Rising, The

Dark Is Rising, The

Series: The Dark is Rising Sequence (Book #2)
by Susan Cooper

On the Midwinter Day that is his eleventh birthday, Will Stanton discovers a special gift — that he is destined to seek the six magical Signs of Light. He is the last of the Old Ones, immortals dedicated to keeping the world from domination by the forces of evil, the Dark.

And for the twelve days of Christmas, while the Dark is rising, life for Will is full of wonder, terror, and delight.

Newbery Medal Winner

10, 11, 12, 13, 14
Interest Level
Grades 5 - 9
Grade Level Equivalent
Lexile Measure
Guided Reading
Book Type
Chapter Book

About the Author

Contributor Image Alt Tag Susan Cooper Cooper wrote her first book for young readers in response to a publishing house competition; Over Sea, Under Stone would later form the basis for her critically acclaimed five-book fantasy sequence, The Dark Is Rising. The fourth book in the series, The Grey King, won the Newbery Medal in 1976.

The Reading Toolkit

Shop From Scholastic

Find Just-Right Books

Find Just-Right Books

Sponsor Spotlight