Parents | Raising readers & learners.

Home of Parent & Child Magazine

Among the Betrayed

Among the Betrayed

Series: Shadow Children (Book #3)
by Margaret Peterson Haddix

What does it mean to save yourself?

Nina Idi — a third child in a society where families are allowed only two children — has been betrayed by the boy she loved, and arrested by the Population Police for exposing other alleged third children. Angry and confused, Nina knows only one thing for sure: She is innocent of the charges. But now she is faced with the most difficult choice of her life: Get three other prisoners to admit they are shadow children and be spared herself, or refuse to cooperate and be killed.

The options are clear. The choice, Nina discovers, is not...

11, 12, 13
Interest Level
Grades 6 - 8
Thorndike Press
Number of Pages
Adventure, Science Fiction

About the Author

Margaret Peterson Haddix Margaret Peterson Haddix is the author of many memorable novels for young readers. Her work has been honored with the International Reading Association Children's Book Award, the American Library Association Best Books for Young Adults and Quick Pick for Reluctant Young Adult Readers citations, and state readers' choice lists in sixteen states.

The Reading Toolkit

Shop From Scholastic

Find Just-Right Books

Find Just-Right Books