Parents | Raising readers & learners.

Home of Parent & Child Magazine

Chasing Vermeer

Chasing Vermeer

by Blue Balliett Illustrated by Brett Helquist

When a book of unexplainable occurrences brings Petra Andalee and Calder Pillay together, strange things start to happen. Before they know it, the two find themselves at the center of an international art scandal. As Petra and Calder are drawn clue by clue into a mysterious labyrinth they must use their powers of intuition, their skills at problem solving, and their knowledge of Vermeer. Can they decipher a crime that has left even the FBI baffled?

Chasing Vermeer was picked by the TODAY SHOW for Al Roker's Book Club for Kids.

Praise for Chasing Vermeer 

"A great read... Fans of E.L. Konigsburg's From the Mixed-Up Files of Basil E. Frankweiler or Ellen Raskin's The Westing Game will find equal pleasure in this debut by a talented writer." — Kirkus, starred review

"Exciting... Mixes mystery, puzzles, possibilities, and art." — Booklist, starred review

"Appealing… Agreeably quirky." — Horn Book

"A Da Vinci Code for tweens." — Newsweek

"Suspenseful, exciting, charming, and even unexpectedly moving." — The New York Times Book Review

Ages
11, 12, 13
Interest Level
Grades 6 - 8
Grade Level Equivalent
5.6
Lexile Measure
770L
DRA
40
Guided Reading
S
Publisher
Scholastic Paperbacks
Book Type
Chapter Book
Number of Pages
272
Genre
Mystery and Suspense

About the Author and Illustrator

Blue Balliett Blue Balliett grew up in New York City and studied art history at Brown University. Balliett and her family now live in Chicago. She taught at the University of Chicago Laboratory Schools before becoming a full-time writer.
Brett Helquist

The Reading Toolkit

Shop From Scholastic

Paperbacks : $7.99

Buy Now

Find Just-Right Books

Find Just-Right Books