Four Girls. Four Generations. One Family

Family Tree by Ann M. Martin

  • Family Tree Book One: Better to Wish by Ann M. Martin

    Family Tree

    Book One: Better to Wish

    In 1930, Abby Nichols is eight, and can’t imagine what her future holds. But Abby’s world is changing fast. Soon there will be new siblings to take care of, a new house to move into, and new friends to meet. But there will also be good-byes to say and hard choices to make. As Abby grows older, how will she decide what sort of life will fit her best?

  • Family Tree Book Two: The Long Way Home by Ann M. Martin

    Family Tree

    Book Two: The Long Way Home

    After years of moving, often with her mother and three siblings, Dana is angry at her mom, and wants nothing more than to leave her family and get back to New York City, where she grew up. She moves in with her young, bohemian aunt Adele, determined to study art, attend school, achieve independence, and avoid all the mistakes her mother made. But can she leave her family and Maine behind?

  • Family Tree Book Three: Best Kept Secret by Ann M. Martin

    Family Tree

    Book Three: Best Kept Secret

    Francie likes to think of herself as a normal girl living in Princeton, New Jersey in the 1980s. But having a good life isn’t the same as having a perfect one. Underneath her normal life is another, harder one, full of family secrets and personal challenges. When something truly horrible nearly happens to Francie, she takes on a secret that’s bigger than any she’s ever had before – and it’s one she decides to keep to herself, no matter what.

  • Family Tree Book Four: Home Is The Place by Ann M. Martin

    Family Tree

    Book Four: Home Is The Place

    Far and near. Lost and found. Four girls. Four generations.

    Georgia cannot figure out what's going on in her family. Her mother, Francie, is extremely overprotective. Her grandmother, Dana, and her great-grandmother, Abby, don't speak to each other. And Georgia's great-great-grandmother also had some secrets that nobody else knows about.

    Georgia knows this because she's found her great-great grandmother's diary hidden in a wall in the family's house in Maine. Reading the diary makes her think of her own struggles - and draws her even closer to the mysteries of her family as Abby's hundredth birthday approaches.

    HOME IS THE PLACE is the heartfelt, remarkable conclusion to Ann M. Martin's Family Tree series, which has followed Abby, Dana, Francie, and now Georgia from girlhood to womanhood, showing readers the intertwining, extraordinary ways we grow up.

Ann M. Martin
photo by Dion Ogust

Meet Ann M. Martin

Ann M. Martin’s The Baby-sitters Club series has over 176 million copies in print and inspired a generation of young readers. Her novels include the Main Street series, Belle Teal, the Newbery Honor book A Corner of the Universe, Here Today, A Dog’s Life, and On Christmas Eve, as well as the much-loved collaberations P.S. Longer Letter Later and Snail Mail No More with Paula Danziger, and The Doll People and The Meanest Doll in the World, written with Laura Godwin and illustrated by Brian Selznick. She lives in upstate New York.

Check out Ann M. Martin’s other books

  • The Baby-sitters Club site

    The Baby-sitters Club

    Read more about the classic best-selling series!

  • Main Street by Ann M. Martin

    Main Street

    Ann M. Martin brings the town of Camden Falls to life, through the eyes of sisters Flora and Ruby.

  • Ann M. Martin

    More about Ann M. Martin