About This Lesson Plan

SUBJECT
Reading, Language Arts

GRADE
K-2

DURATION
30 Mins

In the Tall, Tall Grass Lesson Plan

In the vein of In the Small, Small Pond, Denise Fleming does it again with In the Tall, Tall Grass, creating a rhyming book that students enjoy. Students enjoy trying to identify the rhyming words.

OBJECTIVE
Students will "recognize and produce rhyming words." --Massachusetts English/Language Arts Curriculum Framework

MATERIALS

  • In the Tall, Tall Grass by Denise Fleming
  • sentence strips
  • a marker


SET UP AND PREPARE
Use the sentence strips to copy the text from the story, and cut the words apart. Keep the words sorted according to the pages they appear on.

DIRECTIONS
With the words sorted according to page and spread out on a table, work with a small group of students to identify the rhyming words. As students identify the words, put the rhyming words together and take time to note any patterns.  For example, after spreading out "strum, drum, bees hum," and reading it aloud while pointing, students would identify strum, drum, and hum as rhyming words. Students would then discover that all of these words end in "um."

SUPPORTING ALL LEARNERS
It may be helpful to have students place highlighting tape over the portions of the words that rhymes.

LESSON EXTENSION
Choose some of the rhyming words featured in the book and generate lists of other rhyming words.

With older students, play Concentration using rhyming cards based on words from the book.

Related Resources
www.denisefleming.com

About the Author

Jeremy Brunaccioni is a kindergarten teacher in Massachusetts.

  • Teacher Store
  • The Teacher Store  
    39 Clues, The: Cahills vs. Vespers Book 3: The Dead of Night

    39 Clues, The: Cahills vs. Vespers Book 3: The Dead of Night

    by Peter Lerangis

    The Vespers have crossed a line. Amy and Dan were devastated when the Vespers kidnapped seven Cahills around the world, holding them hostage until Amy and Dan delivered an impossible ransom. But at least the hostages were Cahills - members of the world's most powerful family, trained to face all odds.

    Now the Vespers have gone too far. They've kidnapped Atticus, an innocent 11 year old boy and Dan's only friend. Now Dan and Amy are in the struggle of their lives. Because if they can't outwit the Vespers, the unthinkable will happen...Atticus will die.

    $24.99
    CD | Grades 3-7
    Add To Cart
    Educators Only
    39 Clues, The: Cahills vs. Vespers Book 3: The Dead of Night
    Grades 3-7 $24.99
    Add To Cart
  • Teacher Store
  • The Teacher Store  
    Wolves

    Wolves

    by Rhonda Lucas Donald;Kathleen W. Kranking

    Your class will have a howling good time learning about wolves! This fascinating teaching unit dispels the myth of the "big bad wolf" and helps kids understand what makes these beautiful and intelligent creatures so special: their social nature, physical traits, amazing senses, methods of communication, and much more. Includes background information, cross-curricular activities, hands-on reproducibles, art projects, games, and literature links! 32 pages + poster.

    $2.49 You save: 75%
    Professional Book | Grades 1-3
    Add To Cart
    Educators Only
    Wolves
    Grades 1-3 $2.49
    Add To Cart
Help | Privacy Policy
EMAIL THIS

* YOUR NAME

* YOUR EMAIL ADDRESS

* RECIPIENT'S EMAIL ADDRESS(ES)

(Separate multiple email addresses with commas)

Check this box to send yourself a copy of the email.

INCLUDE A PERSONAL MESSAGE (Optional)


Scholastic respects your privacy. We do not retain or distribute lists of email addresses.