About This Lesson Plan

SUBJECT
Reading, Language Arts

GRADE
K-2

DURATION
30 Mins

In the Tall, Tall Grass Lesson Plan

In the vein of In the Small, Small Pond, Denise Fleming does it again with In the Tall, Tall Grass, creating a rhyming book that students enjoy. Students enjoy trying to identify the rhyming words.

OBJECTIVE
Students will "recognize and produce rhyming words." --Massachusetts English/Language Arts Curriculum Framework

MATERIALS

  • In the Tall, Tall Grass by Denise Fleming
  • sentence strips
  • a marker


SET UP AND PREPARE
Use the sentence strips to copy the text from the story, and cut the words apart. Keep the words sorted according to the pages they appear on.

DIRECTIONS
With the words sorted according to page and spread out on a table, work with a small group of students to identify the rhyming words. As students identify the words, put the rhyming words together and take time to note any patterns.  For example, after spreading out "strum, drum, bees hum," and reading it aloud while pointing, students would identify strum, drum, and hum as rhyming words. Students would then discover that all of these words end in "um."

SUPPORTING ALL LEARNERS
It may be helpful to have students place highlighting tape over the portions of the words that rhymes.

LESSON EXTENSION
Choose some of the rhyming words featured in the book and generate lists of other rhyming words.

With older students, play Concentration using rhyming cards based on words from the book.

Related Resources
www.denisefleming.com

About the Author

Jeremy Brunaccioni is a kindergarten teacher in Massachusetts.

  • Teacher Store
  • The Teacher Store  
    Half Brother

    Half Brother

    by Kenneth Oppel

    For thirteen years, Ben Tomlin was an only child. But all that changes when his mother brings home Zan - an eight-day-old chimpanzee. Ben's father, a renowned behavioral scientist, has uprooted the family to pursue his latest research project: a high-profile experiment to determine whether chimpanzees can acquire advanced language skills. Ben's parents tell him to treat Zan like a little brother. Ben reluctantly agrees. At least now he's not the only one his father's going to scrutinize.It isn't long before Ben is Zan's favorite, and Ben starts to see Zan as more than just an experiment. His father disagrees. To him, Zan is only a specimen, no more, no less. And this is going to have consequences. Soon Ben is forced to make a critical choice between what he is told to believe and what he knows to be true - between obeying his father or protecting his brother from an unimaginable fate.

    Half Brother isn't just a story about a boy and a chimp. It's about the way families are made, the way humanity is judged, the way easy choices become hard ones, and how you can't always do right by the people and animals you love. In the hands of master storyteller Kenneth Oppel, it's a novel you won't soon forget.

    $15.14
    Hardcover Book | Grades 8-12
    Add To Cart
    Educators Only
    Half Brother
    Grades 8-12 $15.14
    Add To Cart
  • Teacher Store
  • The Teacher Store  
    Storm Runners 3: Eruption

    Storm Runners 3: Eruption

    by Roland Smith

    The explosive conclusion to Roland Smith's fast-paced action series!

    Chase Masters and his friends have made it through the longest night of their lives, but their adventures are far from over. Now they're headed south of the border to track down the missing Rossi Brothers' Circus. With a volcano about to erupt after a massive earthquake, Chase has never faced such a serious threat to his survival!

    $25.99
    CD | Grades 4-7
    Add To Cart
    Educators Only
    Storm Runners 3: Eruption
    Grades 4-7 $25.99
    Add To Cart
Help | Privacy Policy
EMAIL THIS

* YOUR NAME

* YOUR EMAIL ADDRESS

* RECIPIENT'S EMAIL ADDRESS(ES)

(Separate multiple email addresses with commas)

Check this box to send yourself a copy of the email.

INCLUDE A PERSONAL MESSAGE (Optional)


Scholastic respects your privacy. We do not retain or distribute lists of email addresses.