About This Lesson Plan

SUBJECT
Reading, Language Arts

GRADE
K-2

DURATION
30 Mins

In the Tall, Tall Grass Lesson Plan

In the vein of In the Small, Small Pond, Denise Fleming does it again with In the Tall, Tall Grass, creating a rhyming book that students enjoy. Students enjoy trying to identify the rhyming words.

OBJECTIVE
Students will "recognize and produce rhyming words." --Massachusetts English/Language Arts Curriculum Framework

MATERIALS

  • In the Tall, Tall Grass by Denise Fleming
  • sentence strips
  • a marker


SET UP AND PREPARE
Use the sentence strips to copy the text from the story, and cut the words apart. Keep the words sorted according to the pages they appear on.

DIRECTIONS
With the words sorted according to page and spread out on a table, work with a small group of students to identify the rhyming words. As students identify the words, put the rhyming words together and take time to note any patterns.  For example, after spreading out "strum, drum, bees hum," and reading it aloud while pointing, students would identify strum, drum, and hum as rhyming words. Students would then discover that all of these words end in "um."

SUPPORTING ALL LEARNERS
It may be helpful to have students place highlighting tape over the portions of the words that rhymes.

LESSON EXTENSION
Choose some of the rhyming words featured in the book and generate lists of other rhyming words.

With older students, play Concentration using rhyming cards based on words from the book.

Related Resources
www.denisefleming.com

About the Author

Jeremy Brunaccioni is a kindergarten teacher in Massachusetts.

  • Teacher Store
  • The Teacher Store  
    Goosebumps HorrorLand Books 1-3 Library Bundle

    Goosebumps HorrorLand Books 1-3 Library Bundle

    by R.L. Stine

    Revenge of the Living Dummy (Book #1):

    It's a whole new ride from master of horror and bestselling author R.L. Stine--with a story so fiendish that it can't be contained to just one book!

    Fright-master R.L. Stine invites you on an all-new, all-terrifying adventure!

    The thrill ride begins when 12-year-old Britney Crosby encounters an old ventriloquist's dummy with a lively secret--and a wicked plan. Just when she thinks the nightmare is over, Britney receives an invitation to an amusement park where everything is not as it seems. Who--or what--is summoning ordinary kids to HorrorLand? Britney and her friends must find out fast--or remain trapped forever in the scariest place on Earth.

    Creep From the Deep (Book #2):

    Billy and his sister, Sheena, unwittingly dive into a terrifying mystery when they accept a surprise invitation to HorrorLand--the amusement park that always lives up to its name. But first Billy and Sheena must sink or swim aboard a doomed ship that happens to be underwater--with a captain who happens to be dead. At least, he used to be!

    Monster Blood for Breakfast! (Book #3):

    For an athlete like Matt Daniels, breakfast is the most important meal of the day. It's also the most dangerous. That's because somebody is about to pull a mean prank. The recipe is simple: Just add gooey, green Monster Blood.

    As if Matt's problems weren't big and slimy enough, an invitation to HorrorLand is also on its way. Can Matt survive inside a terrifying scream park where trouble lurks behind every turnstile? Can YOU?

    $67.39
    CD Collection | Grades 4-6
    Add To Cart
    Educators Only
    Goosebumps HorrorLand Books 1-3 Library Bundle
    Grades 4-6 $67.39
    Add To Cart
  • Teacher Store
  • The Teacher Store  
    39 Clues, The : Unstoppable Book 2: Breakaway- LIB

    39 Clues, The : Unstoppable Book 2: Breakaway- LIB

    by Jeff Hirsch

    Dan and Amy Cahill are facing their greatest threat yet and as the enemy is closing in, Dan finds himself facing the one terror he never imagined - being betrayed by his own sister.

    $49.99
    CD | Grades 3-7
    Add To Cart
    Educators Only
    39 Clues, The : Unstoppable Book 2: Breakaway- LIB
    Grades 3-7 $49.99
    Add To Cart
Help | Privacy Policy
EMAIL THIS

* YOUR NAME

* YOUR EMAIL ADDRESS

* RECIPIENT'S EMAIL ADDRESS(ES)

(Separate multiple email addresses with commas)

Check this box to send yourself a copy of the email.

INCLUDE A PERSONAL MESSAGE (Optional)


Scholastic respects your privacy. We do not retain or distribute lists of email addresses.