About This Lesson Plan

SUBJECT
Reading, Language Arts

GRADE
K-2

DURATION
30 Mins

In the Tall, Tall Grass Lesson Plan

In the vein of In the Small, Small Pond, Denise Fleming does it again with In the Tall, Tall Grass, creating a rhyming book that students enjoy. Students enjoy trying to identify the rhyming words.

OBJECTIVE
Students will "recognize and produce rhyming words." --Massachusetts English/Language Arts Curriculum Framework

MATERIALS

  • In the Tall, Tall Grass by Denise Fleming
  • sentence strips
  • a marker


SET UP AND PREPARE
Use the sentence strips to copy the text from the story, and cut the words apart. Keep the words sorted according to the pages they appear on.

DIRECTIONS
With the words sorted according to page and spread out on a table, work with a small group of students to identify the rhyming words. As students identify the words, put the rhyming words together and take time to note any patterns.  For example, after spreading out "strum, drum, bees hum," and reading it aloud while pointing, students would identify strum, drum, and hum as rhyming words. Students would then discover that all of these words end in "um."

SUPPORTING ALL LEARNERS
It may be helpful to have students place highlighting tape over the portions of the words that rhymes.

LESSON EXTENSION
Choose some of the rhyming words featured in the book and generate lists of other rhyming words.

With older students, play Concentration using rhyming cards based on words from the book.

Related Resources
www.denisefleming.com

About the Author

Jeremy Brunaccioni is a kindergarten teacher in Massachusetts.

  • Teacher Store
  • The Teacher Store  
    Shadow Throne, The - TR

    Shadow Throne, The - TR

    by Jennifer Nielsen

    War has come to Carthya and Jaron must undertake what may be his last journey to save everything and everyone he loves.

    $34.99
    CD | Grades 5-9
    Add To Cart
    Educators Only
    Shadow Throne, The - TR
    Grades 5-9 $34.99
    Add To Cart
  • Teacher Store
  • The Teacher Store  
    Woof ­ TR

    Woof ­ TR

    by Spencer Quinn

    "Spencer Quinn speaks two languages­­suspense and dog­­fluently."­­Stephen King

    Bowser is a dog detective on the loose, paired with an eleven­year­old girl, Birdie. Bowser and Birdie live on the Louisiana coast with Birdie's Grammy. When a prize stuffed marlin is stolen from Grammy's bait and tackle shop, Birdie and Bowser decide to take on the case. But what looks like a straightforward break­in soon becomes as tangled as a tourist's fishing line. Was Grammy hiding a treasure map in the marlin? What's up with Old Man Straker, owner of a rival tackle shop, and his juvenile delinquent son? And most sinister of all, why does it suddenly look as if someone wants to harm Birdie? Told entirely from Bowser's hilarious dog point of view, WOOF launches a brand­new, slightly slobbery, but utterly winning detective duo.

    $34.99
    CD | Grades 3-7
    Add To Cart
    Educators Only
    Woof ­ TR
    Grades 3-7 $34.99
    Add To Cart
Help | Privacy Policy
EMAIL THIS

* YOUR NAME

* YOUR EMAIL ADDRESS

* RECIPIENT'S EMAIL ADDRESS(ES)

(Separate multiple email addresses with commas)

Check this box to send yourself a copy of the email.

INCLUDE A PERSONAL MESSAGE (Optional)


Scholastic respects your privacy. We do not retain or distribute lists of email addresses.