About This Lesson Plan

SUBJECT
Reading, Language Arts

GRADE
K-2

DURATION
30 Mins

In the Tall, Tall Grass Lesson Plan

In the vein of In the Small, Small Pond, Denise Fleming does it again with In the Tall, Tall Grass, creating a rhyming book that students enjoy. Students enjoy trying to identify the rhyming words.

OBJECTIVE
Students will "recognize and produce rhyming words." --Massachusetts English/Language Arts Curriculum Framework

MATERIALS

  • In the Tall, Tall Grass by Denise Fleming
  • sentence strips
  • a marker


SET UP AND PREPARE
Use the sentence strips to copy the text from the story, and cut the words apart. Keep the words sorted according to the pages they appear on.

DIRECTIONS
With the words sorted according to page and spread out on a table, work with a small group of students to identify the rhyming words. As students identify the words, put the rhyming words together and take time to note any patterns.  For example, after spreading out "strum, drum, bees hum," and reading it aloud while pointing, students would identify strum, drum, and hum as rhyming words. Students would then discover that all of these words end in "um."

SUPPORTING ALL LEARNERS
It may be helpful to have students place highlighting tape over the portions of the words that rhymes.

LESSON EXTENSION
Choose some of the rhyming words featured in the book and generate lists of other rhyming words.

With older students, play Concentration using rhyming cards based on words from the book.

Related Resources
www.denisefleming.com

About the Author

Jeremy Brunaccioni is a kindergarten teacher in Massachusetts.

  • Scholastic Store
  • The Scholastic Store  
    25 Science Plays for Beginning Readers

    25 Science Plays for Beginning Readers

    by Sheryl Ann Crawford and Nancy I. Sanders

    Teach key science concepts and build reading fluency with these engaging and easy-to-read plays on animals, habitats, life cycles, health and human body, plants and seeds, weather, and more. Reproducible plays include rhyme, repetition, and predictable language to help young learners build reading confidence. Extension activities teach and reinforce key concepts and vocabulary. For use with Grades KŠ2.

    $9.59 You save: 20%
    books;teaching resources;professional books | Ages 4-8
    Add To Cart
    25 Science Plays for Beginning Readers
    Ages 4-8 $9.59
  • Teacher Store
  • The Teacher Store  
    39 Clues, The: Cahills vs. Vespers Book 4: Shatterproof

    39 Clues, The: Cahills vs. Vespers Book 4: Shatterproof

    by Roland Smith

    After pulling some spectacular heists, Amy and Dan have become two of Interpol's most wanted criminals. So when Vesper One orders them to steal the world's largest diamond, they know they're facing life in prison…or worse. But with the Cahill hostages still in peril, Amy and Dan have no choice but to launch a mission that leads them to an ancient city full of dangerous secrets. With a Vesper mole sabotaging the Madrigals from inside, Amy and Dan have to fulfill their enemy's request before it's too late. Vesper One has developed a taste for killing Cahills, and Amy and Dan aren't going to wait to see who's next.

    $24.99
    CD | Grades 4-7
    Add To Cart
    Educators Only
    39 Clues, The: Cahills vs. Vespers Book 4: Shatterproof
    Grades 4-7 $24.99
    Add To Cart
Help | Privacy Policy
EMAIL THIS

* YOUR NAME

* YOUR EMAIL ADDRESS

* RECIPIENT'S EMAIL ADDRESS(ES)

(Separate multiple email addresses with commas)

Check this box to send yourself a copy of the email.

INCLUDE A PERSONAL MESSAGE (Optional)


Scholastic respects your privacy. We do not retain or distribute lists of email addresses.