About This Lesson Plan

SUBJECT
Reading, Language Arts

GRADE
K-2

DURATION
30 Mins

In the Tall, Tall Grass Lesson Plan

In the vein of In the Small, Small Pond, Denise Fleming does it again with In the Tall, Tall Grass, creating a rhyming book that students enjoy. Students enjoy trying to identify the rhyming words.

OBJECTIVE
Students will "recognize and produce rhyming words." --Massachusetts English/Language Arts Curriculum Framework

MATERIALS

  • In the Tall, Tall Grass by Denise Fleming
  • sentence strips
  • a marker


SET UP AND PREPARE
Use the sentence strips to copy the text from the story, and cut the words apart. Keep the words sorted according to the pages they appear on.

DIRECTIONS
With the words sorted according to page and spread out on a table, work with a small group of students to identify the rhyming words. As students identify the words, put the rhyming words together and take time to note any patterns.  For example, after spreading out "strum, drum, bees hum," and reading it aloud while pointing, students would identify strum, drum, and hum as rhyming words. Students would then discover that all of these words end in "um."

SUPPORTING ALL LEARNERS
It may be helpful to have students place highlighting tape over the portions of the words that rhymes.

LESSON EXTENSION
Choose some of the rhyming words featured in the book and generate lists of other rhyming words.

With older students, play Concentration using rhyming cards based on words from the book.

Related Resources
www.denisefleming.com

About the Author

Jeremy Brunaccioni is a kindergarten teacher in Massachusetts.

  • Teacher Store
  • The Teacher Store  
    Magic School Bus, The and the Climate Challenge and The Magic School Bus® Inside the Earth (Playaway)

    Magic School Bus, The and the Climate Challenge and The Magic School Bus® Inside the Earth (Playaway)

    by Joanna Cole;Bruce Degen

    Climate Challenge:

    Like it or not, global warming is a hot topic, and it will affect the younger generation the most. So why not turn to the teacher kids like the most, Ms. Frizzle! Only the Friz can boil all the hoopla down to the scientific facts in a fun and informative way.

    Inside the Earth:

    Rock collecting has never been quite like this! When the class forgets to do its homework, a fieldtrip through the Earth's crust, into the center of the Earth, and out through a volcano will teach them not to forget their assignments again - and then some!

    $39.99
    Audio | Grade 3
    Add To Cart
    Educators Only
    Magic School Bus, The and the Climate Challenge and The Magic School Bus® Inside the Earth (Playaway)
    Grade 3 $39.99
    Add To Cart
  • Teacher Store
  • The Teacher Store  
    Guided Reading Set: Level B – My Cat

    Guided Reading Set: Level B – My Cat

    by Annie Thomas

    Our Guided Reading 6-Book Sets help you tailor your instruction to meet individual and small-group interests and needs! Select from a variety of best-selling titles to enhance your Guided Reading Program.

    $17.95 You save: 24%
    Book Collection | Grades K-3
    Add To Cart
    Educators Only
    Guided Reading Set: Level B – My Cat
    Grades K-3 $17.95
    Add To Cart
Help | Privacy Policy
EMAIL THIS

* YOUR NAME

* YOUR EMAIL ADDRESS

* RECIPIENT'S EMAIL ADDRESS(ES)

(Separate multiple email addresses with commas)

Check this box to send yourself a copy of the email.

INCLUDE A PERSONAL MESSAGE (Optional)


Scholastic respects your privacy. We do not retain or distribute lists of email addresses.