About This Lesson Plan

SUBJECT
Reading, Language Arts

GRADE
K-2

DURATION
30 Mins

In the Tall, Tall Grass Lesson Plan

In the vein of In the Small, Small Pond, Denise Fleming does it again with In the Tall, Tall Grass, creating a rhyming book that students enjoy. Students enjoy trying to identify the rhyming words.

OBJECTIVE
Students will "recognize and produce rhyming words." --Massachusetts English/Language Arts Curriculum Framework

MATERIALS

  • In the Tall, Tall Grass by Denise Fleming
  • sentence strips
  • a marker


SET UP AND PREPARE
Use the sentence strips to copy the text from the story, and cut the words apart. Keep the words sorted according to the pages they appear on.

DIRECTIONS
With the words sorted according to page and spread out on a table, work with a small group of students to identify the rhyming words. As students identify the words, put the rhyming words together and take time to note any patterns.  For example, after spreading out "strum, drum, bees hum," and reading it aloud while pointing, students would identify strum, drum, and hum as rhyming words. Students would then discover that all of these words end in "um."

SUPPORTING ALL LEARNERS
It may be helpful to have students place highlighting tape over the portions of the words that rhymes.

LESSON EXTENSION
Choose some of the rhyming words featured in the book and generate lists of other rhyming words.

With older students, play Concentration using rhyming cards based on words from the book.

Related Resources
www.denisefleming.com

About the Author

Jeremy Brunaccioni is a kindergarten teacher in Massachusetts.

  • Teacher Store
  • The Teacher Store  
    Summer Express 3–4

    Summer Express 3–4

    by Karen J. Kindle


    View Sample Pages



    Give your child a head start in school! Summer Express includes 100 fun-filled activity pages—arranged in a progressive, 10-week format—that reinforce skills while preparing third graders for fourth grade.

    In this learning-packed book, your child will work on the following skills:
    • Math
    • Reading
    • Writing
    • Vocabulary
    • Grammar
    • Handwriting

    A summer’s worth of great learning! 144 pages 1 page of 4/c stickers.


    You will need Adobe Acrobat Reader® software, version 4.0 or higher, to view and print the sample page above. Get Adobe Reader® for FREE.

    $11.24 You save: 25%
    Work Book | Grades 3-4
    Add To Cart
    Educators Only
    Summer Express 3–4
    Grades 3-4 $11.24
    Add To Cart
  • Teacher Store
  • The Teacher Store  
    Cyberia #3

    Cyberia #3

    by Chris Lynch

    Zane and his animal comrades have foiled Dr. Gristle's terrible plots twice—he can't talk to animals, and he can't get at the heart of what makes them wild. Zane can talk to them. He can understand them. He almost is one. Almost.

    Zane keeps getting in Dr. Gristle's way though—and he's being sent as far out of the way as Gristle can get him. In fact, he's being sent right into the middle of a new plot of the bad doctor's—and in his new, utterly foreign surroundings, he's entirely too human.

    Just what has Gristle done to make these new animals so angry? Can't they see that Zane is their Friend?

    In order to get home, Zane must figure out a way to stop Gristle's new plan and make some new friends before he becomes animal feed—or worse. It's time to defeat the evil Dr. Gristle once and for all!

    In the not-too-distant future, a boy must be all animals' best friend, in a final laugh-out-loud adventure sure to please middle-grade readers with all types of pets.

    $16.99
    Hardcover Book | Grades 4-7
    Add To Cart
    Educators Only
    Cyberia #3
    Grades 4-7 $16.99
    Add To Cart
Help | Privacy Policy
EMAIL THIS

* YOUR NAME

* YOUR EMAIL ADDRESS

* RECIPIENT'S EMAIL ADDRESS(ES)

(Separate multiple email addresses with commas)

Check this box to send yourself a copy of the email.

INCLUDE A PERSONAL MESSAGE (Optional)


Scholastic respects your privacy. We do not retain or distribute lists of email addresses.