About This Lesson Plan

SUBJECT
Reading, Language Arts

GRADE
K-2

DURATION
30 Mins

In the Tall, Tall Grass Lesson Plan

In the vein of In the Small, Small Pond, Denise Fleming does it again with In the Tall, Tall Grass, creating a rhyming book that students enjoy. Students enjoy trying to identify the rhyming words.

OBJECTIVE
Students will "recognize and produce rhyming words." --Massachusetts English/Language Arts Curriculum Framework

MATERIALS

  • In the Tall, Tall Grass by Denise Fleming
  • sentence strips
  • a marker


SET UP AND PREPARE
Use the sentence strips to copy the text from the story, and cut the words apart. Keep the words sorted according to the pages they appear on.

DIRECTIONS
With the words sorted according to page and spread out on a table, work with a small group of students to identify the rhyming words. As students identify the words, put the rhyming words together and take time to note any patterns.  For example, after spreading out "strum, drum, bees hum," and reading it aloud while pointing, students would identify strum, drum, and hum as rhyming words. Students would then discover that all of these words end in "um."

SUPPORTING ALL LEARNERS
It may be helpful to have students place highlighting tape over the portions of the words that rhymes.

LESSON EXTENSION
Choose some of the rhyming words featured in the book and generate lists of other rhyming words.

With older students, play Concentration using rhyming cards based on words from the book.

Related Resources
www.denisefleming.com

About the Author

Jeremy Brunaccioni is a kindergarten teacher in Massachusetts.

  • Teacher Store
  • The Teacher Store  
    Star Crossed

    Star Crossed

    by Elizabeth C. Bunce

    In a glamorous castle full of Llyvraneth's elite, Celyn Contrare serves as a lady-in-waiting to shy young Merista Nemair. Her days are spent dressing in velvet, attending Lady Merista, navigating court gossip, and charming noblemen over lavish feasts.

    And at night, she picks locks, steals jewels, forges documents, and collects secrets. Because Celyn isn't really a lady-in-waiting; she's not even really Celyn Contrare. She's Digger, a sneak-thief on the run from the king's Inquisition, desperate to escape its cruel instruments and hatred of magic. If she's discovered, it will mean her certain death.

    But life as a lady-in-waiting isn't safe either. The devious Lord Daul knows her secret, and he's blackmailing her to serve as his personal spy in the castle. What she discovers—about Daul, about the Nemair, even about her own Lady Merista—could signal civil war in Llyvraneth. And for a thief trained never to get involved, taking sides could be the most dangerous job yet.

    $17.99
    Hardcovers | Grades 7-12
    Add To Cart
    Educators Only
    Star Crossed
    Grades 7-12 $17.99
    Add To Cart
  • Teacher Store
  • The Teacher Store  
    Best Friend Next Door ­ TR

    Best Friend Next Door ­ TR

    by Carolyn Mackler

    Printz Honor­winner and NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author Carolyn Mackler brings honesty and charm to this middle­grade debut tracing the friendship of two girls.

    Meet Hannah. Her name is a palindrome. Her birthday is on New Year's. Her mom died when she was little. She wishes she had a cat. She's medium height and a little gawky. She's being raised by her dad and stepmom, and just found out they're having a baby. Now she'll never get a real mom. And to top it off, Emme, the new neighbor, is taking over her best friend's bedroom…and her identity.

    Meet Emme. Her name is a palindrome. Her birthday is on New Year's. She has two moms, which recently has been feeling like one mom too many. She's so short that last week she was mistaken for a kindergartner. She loves her enormous orange cat. She used to be an optimist (harder these days). At least there's Hannah. Maybe they'll become friends?

    But while Hannah and Emme are alike in so many ways, they're different in all the wrong ways. Is this the perfect friendship, or a recipe for disaster?

    $25.99
    CD | Grades 3-7
    Add To Cart
    Educators Only
    Best Friend Next Door ­ TR
    Grades 3-7 $25.99
    Add To Cart
Help | Privacy Policy
EMAIL THIS

* YOUR NAME

* YOUR EMAIL ADDRESS

* RECIPIENT'S EMAIL ADDRESS(ES)

(Separate multiple email addresses with commas)

Check this box to send yourself a copy of the email.

INCLUDE A PERSONAL MESSAGE (Optional)


Scholastic respects your privacy. We do not retain or distribute lists of email addresses.