About This Lesson Plan

SUBJECT
Reading, Language Arts

GRADE
K-2

DURATION
30 Mins

In the Tall, Tall Grass Lesson Plan

In the vein of In the Small, Small Pond, Denise Fleming does it again with In the Tall, Tall Grass, creating a rhyming book that students enjoy. Students enjoy trying to identify the rhyming words.

OBJECTIVE
Students will "recognize and produce rhyming words." --Massachusetts English/Language Arts Curriculum Framework

MATERIALS

  • In the Tall, Tall Grass by Denise Fleming
  • sentence strips
  • a marker


SET UP AND PREPARE
Use the sentence strips to copy the text from the story, and cut the words apart. Keep the words sorted according to the pages they appear on.

DIRECTIONS
With the words sorted according to page and spread out on a table, work with a small group of students to identify the rhyming words. As students identify the words, put the rhyming words together and take time to note any patterns.  For example, after spreading out "strum, drum, bees hum," and reading it aloud while pointing, students would identify strum, drum, and hum as rhyming words. Students would then discover that all of these words end in "um."

SUPPORTING ALL LEARNERS
It may be helpful to have students place highlighting tape over the portions of the words that rhymes.

LESSON EXTENSION
Choose some of the rhyming words featured in the book and generate lists of other rhyming words.

With older students, play Concentration using rhyming cards based on words from the book.

Related Resources
www.denisefleming.com

About the Author

Jeremy Brunaccioni is a kindergarten teacher in Massachusetts.

  • Scholastic Store
  • The Scholastic Store  
    25 Science Plays for Beginning Readers

    25 Science Plays for Beginning Readers

    by Sheryl Ann Crawford and Nancy I. Sanders

    Teach key science concepts and build reading fluency with these engaging and easy-to-read plays on animals, habitats, life cycles, health and human body, plants and seeds, weather, and more. Reproducible plays include rhyme, repetition, and predictable language to help young learners build reading confidence. Extension activities teach and reinforce key concepts and vocabulary. For use with Grades KŠ2.

    $9.59 You save: 20%
    books;teaching resources;professional books | Ages 4-8
    Add To Cart
    25 Science Plays for Beginning Readers
    Ages 4-8 $9.59
  • Teacher Store
  • The Teacher Store  
    Guided Reading Nonfiction Focus 2nd Edition Level K

    Guided Reading Nonfiction Focus 2nd Edition Level K

    Scholastic’s Guided Reading Nonfiction Focus: 2nd Edition offers enormous collections of high-quality nonfiction titles. This 2nd Edition is packed with new nonfiction books and instructional resources that explicitly support the Common Core with strategically challenging texts in a complex text continuum.

    What’s NEW?

    • More Nonfiction than ever: 80% nonfiction titles, 20% fiction titles
    • Teacher’s Guide with NEW sections addressing:
      • Common Core State Standards
      • Prompts and strategies to support problem-solving
      • Activities for Literacy Centers
      • Analysis of Informational Text Features
      • Brand new titles!
      • CCSS Exemplar Texts

    PLUS CCSS-aligned Instruction Featuring…
    • Opportunities for extensive reading of nonfiction texts
    • Carefully leveled texts focusing on content, academic and domain-specific vocabulary, and language complexity
    • Targeted instruction to scaffold students’ abilities to read and understand increasingly complex nonfiction content and informational text features
    • Instructional materials that include text-dependent questions and prompts to guide deep discussion and thinking


    Visit the Scholastic Guided Reading Program website for more information.

    $379.95 You save: 25%
    Book Collection | Grades 2-3
    Add To Cart
    Educators Only
    Guided Reading Nonfiction Focus 2nd Edition Level K
    Grades 2-3 $379.95
    Add To Cart
Help | Privacy Policy
EMAIL THIS

* YOUR NAME

* YOUR EMAIL ADDRESS

* RECIPIENT'S EMAIL ADDRESS(ES)

(Separate multiple email addresses with commas)

Check this box to send yourself a copy of the email.

INCLUDE A PERSONAL MESSAGE (Optional)


Scholastic respects your privacy. We do not retain or distribute lists of email addresses.