About This Lesson Plan

SUBJECT
Reading, Language Arts

GRADE
K-2

DURATION
30 Mins

In the Tall, Tall Grass Lesson Plan

In the vein of In the Small, Small Pond, Denise Fleming does it again with In the Tall, Tall Grass, creating a rhyming book that students enjoy. Students enjoy trying to identify the rhyming words.

OBJECTIVE
Students will "recognize and produce rhyming words." --Massachusetts English/Language Arts Curriculum Framework

MATERIALS

  • In the Tall, Tall Grass by Denise Fleming
  • sentence strips
  • a marker


SET UP AND PREPARE
Use the sentence strips to copy the text from the story, and cut the words apart. Keep the words sorted according to the pages they appear on.

DIRECTIONS
With the words sorted according to page and spread out on a table, work with a small group of students to identify the rhyming words. As students identify the words, put the rhyming words together and take time to note any patterns.  For example, after spreading out "strum, drum, bees hum," and reading it aloud while pointing, students would identify strum, drum, and hum as rhyming words. Students would then discover that all of these words end in "um."

SUPPORTING ALL LEARNERS
It may be helpful to have students place highlighting tape over the portions of the words that rhymes.

LESSON EXTENSION
Choose some of the rhyming words featured in the book and generate lists of other rhyming words.

With older students, play Concentration using rhyming cards based on words from the book.

Related Resources
www.denisefleming.com

About the Author

Jeremy Brunaccioni is a kindergarten teacher in Massachusetts.

  • Scholastic Store
  • The Scholastic Store  
    Fast Start: Getting Ready to Read

    Fast Start: Getting Ready to Read

    by Timothy Rasinski and Nancy Padak

    Help young children develop their reading fluency, word recognition, and overall comprehension with this easy-to-use early intervention program that takes only ten minutes each night! Parents and children engage in repeated reading of poems, and then they complete a quick, skill-building activity. This ready-to-use, research-proven resource includes more than 100 poems and companion activities, 30 motivational stickers, plus reproducible family letters, certificates, bookmarks, and reading logs. For use with Grades PreKŠK.

    $18.39 You save: 20%
    books;workbooks;skills, homework & testing | Ages 3-6
    Add To Cart
    Fast Start: Getting Ready to Read
    Ages 3-6 $18.39
  • Teacher Store
  • The Teacher Store  
    Alphabet Magnetic Pattern Blocks

    Alphabet Magnetic Pattern Blocks

    Who knew learning could be so much fun! Children will have a blast exploring shapes and putting them together to make the letters of the alphabet. And while children may think they’re simply playing, they’re actually learning about shapes, patterns, symmetry, problem solving, following directions, and more! A great way to give children a headstart in school!

    Includes:
    • 42 magnetic pattern blocks
    • 10 double-sided pattern sheets
    • 2 magnetic boards
    • activity guide

    $13.49 You save: 25%
    Game | Grades 1-2
    Add To Cart
    Educators Only
    Alphabet Magnetic Pattern Blocks
    Grades 1-2 $13.49
    Add To Cart
Help | Privacy Policy
EMAIL THIS

* YOUR NAME

* YOUR EMAIL ADDRESS

* RECIPIENT'S EMAIL ADDRESS(ES)

(Separate multiple email addresses with commas)

Check this box to send yourself a copy of the email.

INCLUDE A PERSONAL MESSAGE (Optional)


Scholastic respects your privacy. We do not retain or distribute lists of email addresses.