• Scholastic Store
  • The Scholastic Store  
    The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe

    The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe

    by C.S. Lewis

    Read The Chronicles of Narnia in its entirety with the full set of seven books. A must-have for collectors, this boxed set of paperbacks includes the timeless fantasy The Lion, The Witch, and the Wardrobe, as well as the six companion volumes that complete the epic story. Don't miss out on experiencing the tale that has captivated readers young and old for generations.

    Page Turners
    Each book contains sketch illustrations to complement the text.

    $40.50 You save: 10%
    books;boxed sets and collections;paperback boxed sets | Ages 8 and Up
    Add To Cart
    The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe
    Ages 8 and Up $40.50
  • Teacher Store
  • The Teacher Store  
    C.S. Lewis's Chronicles of Narnia Grades 4-6

    C.S. Lewis's Chronicles of Narnia Grades 4-6

    by C.S. Lewis

    The well-loved and renowned series from C.S. Lewis presents tales of good and evil, faith and hope, for a new generation of readers to treasure as their own.

    See below for complete list of titles. Appropriate titles of equal value may be substituted if any of the listed titles are unavailable at shipping time.

    Title list:
    • The Magician's Nephew
    • The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe
    • The Horse and His Boy
    • Prince Caspian
    • The Voyage of the Dawn Treader
    • The Silver Chair
    • The Last Battle

    $38.50 You save: 31%
    Paperback Book Collection | Grades 4-6
    Add To Cart
    Educators Only
    C.S. Lewis's Chronicles of Narnia Grades 4-6
    Grades 4-6 $38.50
    Add To Cart

The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe

Author: C.S. Lewis

Illustrator: Robin Lawrie

Series: Chronicles of Narnia (Book #2)

Interest Level:

Lexile Framework:

Grade Level Equivalent:

Guided Reading Level:


Classics, Fables, Folk Tales and Myths, Series, Fantasy

Magic and Supernatural, Action and Adventure Heroes, Ghosts, Monsters, Vampires, Witches

About This Book

Air-raids over London during WWII compel four siblings — Peter, Susan, Edmund, and Lucy — to be sent away from the city to the house of a kindly, but remote Professor "who lived in the heart of the country." There is much to discover in the country: woods, mountains, owls, eagles, maybe even hawks and snakes. But the children will soon discover that the Professor's large house, staffed by three servants, holds even more mystery. It is a house filled with unexpected places, including a room which holds nothing but a large wardrobe, which Lucy opens one rainy day, never dreaming that the wardrobe is a passageway into Narnia.

A once peaceful world inhabited by Fauns, Dwarves, Giants, and Talking Beasts, Narnia has been frozen into perpetual winter by the fiendish White Witch who rules over it. Before long, Edmund steps into the wardrobe, and, in spite of himself, into Narnia, where he has a chilling encounter with the seductive White Witch. Soon, all of the children become embroiled in an adventure that includes themes of betrayal, forgiveness, death, and rebirth.

This is the first installment of C.S. Lewis' renowned series, "The Chronicles of Narnia." The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, first published in 1950, has been enchanting the hearts and imaginations of millions for generations, with its story of four siblings who, with the help of a Lion named Aslan, must overcome their own failings to become heroes of a better world.

The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe was the first book written by C.S. Lewis in the Chronicles of Narnia series, but it is considered to be the second in the series by those wishing to read the books in chronological, rather than publishing, order.

Help | Privacy Policy




(Separate multiple email addresses with commas)

Check this box to send yourself a copy of the email.


Scholastic respects your privacy. We do not retain or distribute lists of email addresses.