Source
Scholastic Kids Press Corps
The Scholastic Kids Press Corps is a team of about 50 Kid Reporters around the nation.  The interactive site brings daily news to life with reporting for kids, by kids.

Book Review: Wonderstruck

Brian Selznick's new book as wonderful as its name

By Grace McManus | September 21 , 2011
Courtesy Scholastic<br />
Courtesy Scholastic

Author Brian Selznick is back. The creator of the much-loved mega-hit book The Invention of Hugo Cabret has now written an equally special, if not more captivating, story titled Wonderstruck.

In Wonderstruck, Selznick unfolds two seemingly separate stories set 50 years apart. One is told with only words, the other with only pictures, until both stories collide near the end. But from the start, there is one trait shared by the two main characters that can't be overlooked: both are deaf.

Selznick first came up with the idea of using only pictures to tell a story about a deaf person after he had seen a documentary about deaf culture. In a video interview I did with Selznick, he told me how struck he was by the documentary's idea that the deaf are often "people of the eye" who "see" most of the prominent things in their lives because they cannot hear.  

That intrigued Selznick, and he set to work on Wonderstruck, telling the stories of Ben and Rose — Ben in words, Rose in pictures. Selznick's drawings are amazing — they pull you in so that you feel like you're part of the scene instead of just viewing it.  

But for me, his writing is even more powerful. It pulls you down into the deepest part of the character's souls, especially when we're following Ben's story. I felt like I was a part of Ben, hearing his thoughts, not just reading an author's words. When Ben suddenly loses his hearing, Selznick's description broke my heart: "Then, through the windows, he saw something that seemed impossible. He saw rain, still pouring down from the sky, streaking hard against the glass. He saw lightning flash without thunder. 'How odd,' he thought. The storm hadn't stopped. Such quiet rain. It had been so loud before. Where had all the noise gone?"

Wonderstruck is as wonderful as its name. It is a beautiful and magical tale that leaves you with both goosebumps and a feeling of belonging in your heart.

Be sure and check out Kid Reporter Grace McManus' video interview with Wonderstruck author Brian Selznick!

KIDS READ

Do you need help picking out what book to read next? Find out what Kid Reporters are saying about all the latest books by reading their book reviews in this special report.

NEWS FOR KIDS, BY KIDS

Get the latest on national and international events, movies, television, music, sports, and more from the Scholastic News Kids Press Corps.

  • Teacher Store
  • The Teacher Store  
    11 Birthdays

    11 Birthdays

    by Wendy Mass

    It's Amanda's 11th birthday and she is super excited---after all, 11 is so different from 10. But from the start, everything goes wrong. The worst part of it all is that she and her best friend, Leo, with whom she's shared every birthday, are on the outs and this will be the first birthday they haven't shared together. When Amanda turns in for the night, glad to have her birthday behind her, she wakes up happy for a new day. Or is it? Her birthday seems to be repeating iself. What is going on?! And how can she fix it? Only time, friendship, and a little luck will tell.

    $25.99
    CD | Grades 4-7
    Add To Cart
    Educators Only
    11 Birthdays
    Grades 4-7 $25.99
    Add To Cart
  • Teacher Store
  • The Teacher Store  
    Tombquest #3 ­ TR

    Tombquest #3 ­ TR

    by Michael Northrop

    From the team that brought you The 39 Clues and Spirit Animals comes an epic adventure filled with the magic of ancient Egypt!

    The adventure continues in Book 3!

    When Alex's mother uses the Ancient Egyptian Book of the Dead to bring him back from the brink of death, she inadvertently summons a slew of other spirits from the underworld.

    Book 3 takes Alex and Ren to the Valley of Kings, deep in the Egyptian desert, where a powerful Death Walker lies in wait. Follow them as they travel around the world to stop these Death Walkers…before the tomb claims us all!

    In the tradition of The 39 Clues and Spirit Animals, the TombQuest adventure continues online, with an epic game! Build an Egyptian tomb of your own, hide treasure and protect it with traps, then challenge your friends to play through!

    $25.99
    CD | Grades 3-7
    Add To Cart
    Educators Only
    Tombquest #3 ­ TR
    Grades 3-7 $25.99
    Add To Cart
Privacy Policy
EMAIL THIS

* YOUR FIRST NAME ONLY

* FRIEND'S FIRST NAME ONLY

* FRIEND'S EMAIL ADDRESS

MESSAGE
Here's something interesting from Scholastic.com